Half Way

Yesterday was my last day of my second rotation (and now I am half way through my rotations).  It is crazy how fast 8 weeks of your life can fly by.  I feel like I just started there and now I am already getting close to heading to Philadelphia.

Leaving the patients that were still being seen was the worst part.  One lady started coming there on my first day and she is still there and I absolutely adored her.  To make it even harder, she brought me a parting gift.  She makes soaps so she had made me a bunch of soaps and the fizzy bath bubble things that are so amazing.  I set out the cranberry scented one today and it made my bathroom smell heavenly.

I think this is one of the most amazing parts of physical therapy; the connection you get to make with patients.  Unlike pretty much any other profession in the medical field, you really get to know every patient.  You spend 2-3 hours a week with them.  You learn who their football team is, how many kids they have, their kids little quirks and eccentricities, their hobbies, even difficult times these patients may be going through at home and in their lives.  We aren’t just physical therapists, we are friends and councilors and co-conspirators at times.  I have loved so many of my patients through this time and am very sad to have to part with them.

As for the less sad part of the day, we had a pot luck lunch for my last day and I took my cinnamon chip scones in and everyone in the office was literally begging for the recipe.  I hadn’t made them in a while and I can not for the life of me remember why.  They are simply to die for!!

Unfortunately I had a few too many yesterday and it was pouring down rain all day today so I found myself trudging it out on the treadmill for another 3:1 run.  An hour and 20 minutes with 60 minutes easy, 20 minutes at goal marathon pace.  It actually went well with the help of Fred Claus to distract me from my misery.

Hope you are having a fabulous weekend!!