Butternut Squash and Sausage Pasta

I have been dying to share this recipe since I made it Wednesday night but have been super busy.  I got the inspiration from the Postrun Pasta article in Runner’s World September issue.  The “recipes” they provided pretty much just had a list of ingredients with no directions so I winged it.  I really did not expect Casey to have anything good to say about it when it was all said and done, but low and behold, he LOVED it!  As did I.  This one will definitely be part of our regular meals from now on.

IMG_0017

Ingredients

8 oz Bow Tie Pasta

3 Cups Butternut Squash (I buy the precut, so much easier)

2 Links of your favorite sausage (I used Turkey)

10 oz Portobello Mushrooms

1/4 cup Dried Cranberries

4 tablespoons Olive Oil

2 tablespoons Balsamic Vinegar

1 tablespoon Minced Garlic

Black Pepper to taste

Red Pepper Flakes to taste

Goat Cheese for topping

Directions

1.  Preheat oven to 350.  Place butternut squash on cookie sheet, drizzle with 1 tbsp olive oil.  Roast for 30 minutes.  Squash should still be slightly firm when removing from oven.

2.  While butternut squash is roasting, prepare pasta.

3.  In large skillet over medium heat add 1 tbsp oil and mushrooms, allow to brown 1-2 minutes.

4.  Slice sausage and add to skillet, allowing to brown.

5.  Add butternut squash and dried cranberries and drizzle with remaining olive oil and balsamic vinegar.  Add black pepper and red pepper flakes.  Stir well and cover for 5 minutes.

6.  Add pasta to skillet and toss.  Cover for 2-3 minutes.

7.  Serve with goat cheese sprinkled on top to taste.

I love the combination of flavors in this.  You get a little spicy and a little sweet.  I love that it is a delicious pasta without red sauce (not that I don’t love red sauce), just something a little different.

Serve this up after your long run tomorrow (or today if you are me)!!

7 thoughts on “Butternut Squash and Sausage Pasta

Leave a Reply

