Building A Lot of Character

Well I finally had a running week to be proud of after a few less than stellar weeks.  The funny part is that it was in absolutely terrible conditions!

runs copy

Monday: Hills Intervals on the Cooper River Bridge- started raining 1/2 mile in to my warm up, wind into my face going up meaning rain into my face on the up (granted the down intervals were even easier), stopped raining on my 6th of 7 repeats…go figure!!

Tuesday: easy 5 mile run, pouring rain, just being a tough kid

Wednesday: 50 minute tempo run and felt AMAZING for such a tough run…plus I ran into Tiny Terror during my cool down at the end.  Of course I was super creepy and out of breath and crossed the street like “Hey, pant, pant, blogs, online, pant, you blog, don’t you blog…pant.”  Sometimes I make myself look like such an idiot

Thursday: Rest; 45 minute yoga for cross training (still loving Yogaglo.com)

Friday: 10 miles at pace, learned for the 27th time not to eat Mexican at any interval of time before running, it never ends well, road the struggle bus to acid city, maintained pace by some unexplainable miracle

Saturday: 20 miles, more rain, felt good, no music/headphones, actually peaceful (yet another miracle)

Sunday: 5 easy miles, more rain, can’t stop getting soaked!

I think I did a total of 5 yoga sessions this week (1×45 minute, 4×15 minutes).  My legs have felt incredible and not at all limiting to my training as they have been.  I especially notice the difference when I walk Scarlett in the morning and climb the stairs at work first thing, that’s when my legs have been achiest (if that is a word).

I also spent some time in this position last night, which I love.  Easiest way to do something good for myself, minus having to look at my gross feet.

IMG_1871Hope you had a good training week too!!

3 thoughts on “Building A Lot of Character

  1. You definitely had a really strong week! I feel like Wednesday was the only somewhat decent day for running around here lately. I went to DC and the weather was great up there, of course I was not running but walking all over the city, it was nice. The weather and rain has made us all miss runs or cut them short lately so I’m glad you got it done. Figures it stops right when you finish though.

    I was kinda embarrassed when I met you too, considering the time I saw you I was basically slogging along bc I was finished with a garage workout and soooo ready to leave (I PRed a 10K the night before and probably should have just taken the night off but wanted to eat some hills pre-vacation).

Leave a Reply

