A Most Eventful Long Run

Today called for a 17 mile long run, luckily in much better weather than yesterday.  It was cloudy with a breeze/wind that really made the temperature tolerable.

Casey needed to use my car to get to West Ashley for a fantasy football draft, but I had plans to go to the beach with a friend (who’s husband was also at the draft) so I planned a run to go over to Mount Pleasant then back Downtown and out to West Ashley to finish where he would be drafting.

I headed out over the bridge into Old Mount Pleasant where I go fairly often and did my turn around at 4.75 miles to double back.  I trotted back through Shem Creek and toward the bridge to return Downtown and head toward the final stretch.  The upside of the bridge going back downtown is significantly steeper (though shorter) so I always bow my head and try not to look up too hard.  As I was staring down at the water, I noticed what looked like a boat flipped over and a man standing on top waving his arms; not exactly something you see every day.  People were running, walking and biking all around me without seeming to notice.  I finally ran into two ladies that seemed to be concerned.  We decided someone should call 911, the boat was sinking fast and no other boats were stopping to help.  I got on the phone and was describing what was happening to the dispacher and finally another boat came to their aid.  Once semi-uprighted, I could tell it was a small sail boat, this whipping wind must have toppled them over.  I continued to report the situation until miraculously both sailors had righted the boat and were some how sailing away!!  CRAZY!!  The boat that came to their aid rode along with them up the river, helping them as needed.  (I tried to get a picture of all this but it was way too small). 

Once I felt that the situation was sufficiently under control, I got back underway and headed down the other side of the bridge.  I stopped quickly to refill my water bottle before quickly heading back through town and out to my final destination.  While I was stopped, a man I had passed came running by as said, “You are an amazing runner, keep it up.”  It was such an uplifting thing to hear, especially from a guy that looked much older and much more experienced.  It was the perfect motivation to get through the last 7.5 miles.

In my final 4 miles I switched from my This American Life podcast to Things Mom Never Told You.  I was shocked and suprised to find an episode about the trials and tribulations of having curly hair.  It was the perfect thing to get me laughing (and commiserating) in my final miles. 

I finally made it to the house, feeling as good as you can at the end of a 17 mile run and was happy to spend the rest of the afternoon relaxing at the beach.

Hope you had a great weekend and wonderful long run!

3 thoughts on “A Most Eventful Long Run

  1. I’ve seen some craziness running the bridge- once I saw a ladder fall off the back of a truck and several cars run over it before a cop came by and got it out of the way. I also had some friends who’d just finished their run over when that person jumped last week (fortunately they did not see the jumper). I’m glad you had a good long run and that the weather was nice for you- it is so beautiful today but yesterday wasn’t bad either.

Leave a Reply

