Ice Bucket Challenge

If you are alive and have eyes and ears there is no possible way you don’t know what I am talking about here.

At first I was a little skeptical, what is this helping?  This seems silly if no one is actually donating!  What is this going to solve?

In actuality it has solved two things: awareness and huge financial gains for the ALS foundation.  They have (as of yesterday morning) raised 15.6 million dollars!!  That is real….that can make a huge difference.

It has gotten people talking.  People want to know what ALS is.  Yesterday while I was at the farmer’s market, I over heard 4 separate groups of people discussing ALS and what it is.  I even had one of the groups who wasn’t really sure say, “you look like you would know about ALS.  Tell us about it.”  I was wearing my scrubs of course, I don’t just wear that knowledge on my forehead.  But seriously, the awareness is out there and people are seeking information.  Ignorance is half the battle, which means a lot more people are half way there.

I searched (and watched, and cried through) a lot of videos on youtube to post here about ALS.  About how quickly and drastically it can change someones life.  I found a few that were rather long and this one that is a little shorter that explains how it starts, and tragically how it ends.  If you have a minute or a few and are interested this video shows the affect ALS had on this man and his family.

Knowledge is power and more people are arming themselves.  That is a major tick in the win column if you ask me!

One thought on “Ice Bucket Challenge

Leave a Reply

