Cut Off From The World

So I have been MIA because our internet was out for a few days.  During the work week I didn’t notice much, but over the weekend there were so many things I would go to do and wouldn’t be able to…huge bummer.

The only really exciting thing that has happened in the past few days was Casey’s birthday Thursday!!  I absolutely love birthdays, and love his birthday even more.

Casey was lucky enough to be able to take the day off and go to the beach with his friends all day while I went to work.  I had a rough day and was glad to leave and have something wonderful to celebrate that night to get my mind off of it.  I ran around town and got a last minute gift for him: Hendrick’s Gin, Small Batch Tonic (made in Charleston), regular tonic and Cucumbers so that we could have some celebratory drinks before heading for dinner.

IMG_1784I would not usually drink gin, and definitely not gin and tonic but this small batch tonic (the bottle on the left) called Jack Rudy is AMAZING.  This is definitely going to be a new go to if I am not feeling a glass of wine.  The drink is: 2 oz of gin, 0.75 oz small batch tonic, 4 oz

I headed out to get a quick tempo run in as soon as I got home.  It was soooo hot because I didn’t have time to wait until late like I usually do but I really needed it after my day.  It was perfect to put all of my negative energy into that run and get it out so I could be totally present and happy the rest of the night.  Thank god for running!

I sipped on one of those delicious masterpieces while I got ready and it was delicious.  Seriously, if you don’t like gin and tonic, try this bad boy out and I promise you will like it.  It is the perfect summer drink: sweet, cool and refreshing.

We finally got to go to a restaurant that has been on our list for about 3 years now: FIG (Food Is Good).  The food was amazing, the server was fantastic and we had a wonderful time.  Plus it was a double celebration because the friends we went with just bought their first house the Sunday before!!

IMG_1785After dinner we popped into the Charleston Place Hotel where I had left my car to get a few pictures.

Just your good old cell service bars

Just your good old cell service bars

IMG_1794

Great candid from Lindsey!

Great candid from Lindsey!

Once we finally made it to the car we headed home to have some of the cake that I made for Casey.  This year I made a vanilla cake with blueberries, cream cheese frosting and blueberry preserves in the middle layer.  I think it may have topped the coconut cake from Clay’s birthday in Asheville.

IMG_1783IMG_1792I was so stuffed after having cake and I was exhausted so I dropped Casey off to keep celebrating with his friends before heading to bed.  I wanted to go too but it was a long day, busy day and I desperately needed a decent night’s sleep before working Friday.

Other than that, it has been a weekend as usual to include a pace run yesterday in the flood and a long run today in the pouring rain.  It made for a challenging running environment but at least it wasn’t hot!

Hope you had a great weekend!

4 thoughts on “Cut Off From The World

    • It was actually kind of refreshing, and Casey and I didn’t sit in the same room totally zoned into our computers, crazy. The cake was awesome, I am not even gonna be modest about it!

  1. I’ve never been to FIG but I have heard really good things! And I love the Charleston Place- it’s fun to go in there at Christmas and see the huge train display. Glad you had a good run.

Leave a Reply

