Take Advantage of Your Life

This weekend was a rare occasion where Casey went out of town without me.  He went to a concert in Atlanta and I wasn’t sure what my work situation was going to be when we were deciding if I could go or not.  So that meant after dropping him off Saturday, I was on my own.

I went straight home and hit the road for my 7 mile run which was amazing.  I truly enjoyed all of it, at 1:30 in the afternoon on August 2nd!  The weather was “crappy” all weekend by everyone elses’ standards but it was idyllic for a runner!  It rained off and on the whole time and it felt incredible.

When I got home, I jumped in the shower, then on my bike to head downtown and do some tax free shopping!!

IMG_1775I went shopping for two things: Casey’s birthday and navy tee shirts for me to wear to work.  Casey made out like a bandit.  Quicksilver was doing 2 shirts, shorts, flip flops and sandals for $99.  Considering the shorts I was going to get him were $65 alone I just went for the whole shebang.  I can’t even believe that was a real thing, I save $154 on what I got him.  He made out way better than I did, no navy tees for me.  What a simple thing to not be able to find.

When I got home, I spent some time sitting on the porch reading my book and letting the dogs run outside in between the rain.  I watched our friends dog yesterday and today it is always good when Scar and Cho get some time outside.

IMG_1776IMG_1777

IMG_1779Eventually I came in to make a dinner that Casey wouldn’t appreciate: a HUGE plate of shrimp with Rice, Quinoa, Red Lentils and Barley and Asparagus.  It was delicious and that rice mix was amazing.

IMG_1778Today held a lot of the same, except my 14 miler and some yoga.  I was so worried about this run after last week being such a disaster.  I was getting really nervous if I was just super out of shape and if my fall marathon may not happen this year.  Before I headed out I spent 20 minutes doing some deep stretch yoga.  Thank goodness I can say that my concerns were quelled after a flawless 14 miler.  I went over the bridge into old mount pleasant, out to pitt street pier (where there were sooooo many people out) and did a loop on back home.  It went so well.  Again it was cloudy and misty and about 80 degrees, night and day compared to last week.

Once I got home and showered I ran out to do some errands and came home to do the final piece of my Casey-is-out-of-town-weekend: cleaning, baking and laundry.  I took some of the cookies I made to meet the new neighbors (August 1st is the move in date around Charleston so we literally have 25 new neighbors).

Trail Mix Cookies

Trail Mix Cookies

These turned out way better than I anticipated so I will have to get the recipe added!

So I would say I definitely took advantage of my life and my weekend alone.  It was wonderful, and it still isn’t over.  The rest of the night I am trying to finish this book I am reading, it is amazing.  Review to come.

Hope you had a great weekend and great long run as well!

7 thoughts on “Take Advantage of Your Life

  1. I’m jealous of how perfect that weekend sounds. I love having weekends where I get things done and feel productive with my time! I love your porch too!

  2. I didn’t long run this weekend because I went out of town on a running/hiking road trip but we covered 11 miles so I’m considering that my long run this weekend (not to mention my long run isn’t very long right now anyway, just like 8 miles). I’m glad you had a good 14 miler and got out there for it, I ran 3 yesterday afternoon and it was misting rain and really nice out! Sounds like Casey got some awesome clothes tax free but sorry you couldn’t find anything, I’m surprised you couldn’t find those shirts with some of the downtown stores like Forever 21 or H&M that sell really basic things. I didn’t shop anywhere this weekend because of crowds!

    Your shrimp from dinner look so good!

    • I wish I could do more hiking. I love doing activities that don’t feel like exercise that totally are! As much as I love running, it always feels like running and it always feels like I am working hard. Hiking takes it out of me but in a way that doesn’t feel like I am kicking my own butt!
      I ended up getting a few of the shirts I wanted at the J.Crew in the Outlets so it all worked out! 🙂

  3. Sounds like a great weekend! I love running when it is raining on and off. It is so peaceful & refreshing! Glad to hear you made it through your 14 miler! What a steal on your shopping experience!!

Leave a Reply

