First Week of Work and a Terrible Long Run

So I survived my first week!  Pretty exciting but I am definitely adjusting back to actually being a real human that doesn’t sit around her house all day long.

In my scrubs!!

In my scrubs!!

Wearing scrubs is so awesome.  It easily takes 5 minutes out of getting ready each morning figuring out what I’m going to wear.

Wednesday I even made it back to MUSC to be a clinician in CARES!  And I got to see one of my favorite patients there and she has improved sooooooo much since I left!  It reminded me again how much I love what I do.

Me and one of my mentors from MUSC

Me and one of my mentors from MUSC

My runs all week went really well (I felt really good and was really able to push it on my speed work of hills and tempo) but I pushed my tempo run from Thursday to Friday and took my rest day Thursday which led to a cascade of disaster.  That meant a tempo run Friday and a 6 mile pace run Saturday back to back.  On top of that, it has been the hottest weekend of the summer yet so I waited until about 7:45 to do that run last night.  Which gave me about 12 hours to recover before setting out of my 13 mile long run this morning with a friend.

I rode my bike over to meet her and we got started right around 9 this morning and it was brutal.  I started sweating just braiding my hair on the front porch at 8:30 am!!  We got about 4 miles in before we were absolutely spent.  Luckily, friends of ours live right off the trail we were running on (where I often stop to refill my water) and we decided to cut it short at 6.  I absolutely can not stand shorting out on my long runs and especially when the distance is really starting to build but today was by far the hottest day of summer yet.  9 am just isn’t going to cut it any more, gonna have to be more like 7, but even then today I think would have been too much.

This coming week I will definitely being taking my rest day as scheduled and getting up much earlier for my 14 miler.  I need that to go okay so I can get a confidence boost after an abysmal performance this morning.  I know its not me, its the heat but it is just so hard to stomach wimping out!  Tomorrow is a new day, and a new start to the training week.  Just have to make this one count!

This afternoon we are off for a paddle boarding adventure.  Great way to spend a Sunday.

 

8 thoughts on “First Week of Work and a Terrible Long Run

  1. I ran 8 miles this morning and it was tough. I came home and ate lunch (yeah, I started at 9…) and then a protein shake frappucino but I’m still on the couch just chilling in front of the TV and reading blogs! Hopefully I can make it to yoga at 4, we shall see.

    It looks like your job is going well! I think if I ever got a job outside my house, I’d want one where I could wear scrubs. At least that way you know what you’re gonna wear each day and work isn’t a fashion show (which is important here in Charleston bc I feel like you have to look really, really nice at office jobs here). Sorry you had to cut your long run short but maybe it will cool down in a few days and you can get the 14 in next week like planned. Are you training specifically for anything right now?

    • I am planning to run Raleigh in early November so I still have plenty of time to train at this point so I am not really worried yet. It looks like this weekend will be much more conducive to training. Plus Casey is going to be out of town so it will be a lot of reading and relaxing so getting up earlier will be easier.

  2. AHH I LOVE the scrub photos. You wear them well. I had a 4 miler on schedule for today and THAT was brutal for me for the last mile. It was HOT HOT HOT and I didn’t start until 12 because I had to work this morning.

    • Thank you!! I love my scrubs, especially now that I have some that are appropriately sized and not 100x too big!
      I can’t imagine running at 12 on Sunday, I think I would have just stepped outside and changed my mind. Casey played football from 11-1 Sunday, he is a crazy fool!

  3. So happy you are enjoying your new job! Don’t feel bad about cutting your long run short. It was unbearably hot to run, causing me to struggle on my scheduled 7 mile run as well (I got through it, but had to walk a bit =\). I slept in, going for my run at 10 a.m. and I wish I gotten up at 6! This week is a new week =)

Leave a Reply

