First Day as a Grown Up PT

I can’t believe I can actually say this finally, but today was my first day being a real life PT!

I got up early enough to take Scarlett for a stroll before getting ready for my day.  It was a beautiful morning and a great temperature.  Such a fantastic start to a big day (and I think Scar thought she won the lottery getting to go out so early)!

Once I got to work, I handed in some obligatory paper work and got right started following the girl that I am going to be replacing.  It was a crazy day.  We saw 13 patients with 4 evals, and for people that don’t do PT, that is A LOT!!  11 patients is a good day without that many evals.  The day flew by (so fast I didn’t even take the obligatory first day in my scrubs picture).  I will try to get one of those tomorrow.

It was so incredible to have so much time to do things after getting done working.  I was so used to having to study for hours when the day was done and only finishing in time to run and do it all over again the next day.

After the day was done, I went over to the farmer’s market on the way home since we missed it on Saturday.  I had time to come home and hang out with Casey for a little before heading out to do my hill intervals.  We even had time to ride bikes across town and have some dinner with our friends Steve and Nicole.  Nicole actually had her first day as a nursing assistant today so we had a lot to talk about (and drink to).

IMG_1762 The good thing is that I am actually excited to go back and fend for myself tomorrow, with 6 of my very own patients!!  Cheers to day number 2!

5 thoughts on “First Day as a Grown Up PT

  1. How magical to finally be working in the field you spent all those days studying for!!! No more school means LIFE OUTSIDE OF WORK and farmers market adventures!! 🙂 Love this!

  2. I’m glad you had a good first day! I agree with you, when I finished college it was so interesting to have the afternoons to do whatever I wanted and I didn’t have to study or write for the paper, etc. It was like life slowed down with all the free time (hence I took up running!). Looks like you had a nice afternoon celebrating as well, good luck with shadowing and everything- can’t wait to see the new scrub pic too haha.

  3. I am SOOO far behind on commenting on blogs, but I have been reading them on my phone. CONGRATULATIONS on the job and the first day! It must have been so exciting, very happy for you!

Leave a Reply

