Surprise in Asheville

This past weekend was our friend Clay’s 30th birthday!!  I had to be super secretive before because it was a surprise.

Clay and Lindsey went up on Thursday and spent a day there alone.  Friday morning/afternoon the six of us picked up a rental car and ventured toward the house.  He had NO idea.  The girls of course hoped out of the car and rushed the door furiously knocking and you could tell he was absolutely clueless.

The house was incredible.  It was like a grown up tree house.  We all had our own huge rooms, there was two big living areas and double decks with a hot tub to top it all off.

Gazebo on the back deck

Gazebo on the back deck

Back yard

Back yard

The first night the we all went out for a nice dinner to kick off the celebration in downtown Asheville.

The girls

The girls

Of course we couldn't get even one where all the boys were looking.  Even at 30 there is no chance for that!

Of course we couldn’t get even one where all the boys were looking. Even at 30 there is no chance for that!

When we got home from dinner we dove into some triple layer coconut cake that I made for Clay (per request).  It was actually really good, and I don’t even like coconut cake.

IMG_1740IMG_1748We had such a great night just hanging out, having a few drinks and playing Cards Against Humanity (A party game for horrible people).  Once we were worn out from that we all decided that the hot tub was essential but we couldn’t get it to heat up fast enough.  The boys had the brilliant plan to heat water over the stove and pour it in.  From the gazebo outside you could see into the kitchen and all the girls were sitting out there discussing how ridiculous this idea was and boy did we take that back.  It worked like a charm!  We were at a balmy 101 by the time they were done.

IMG_1746After a very late night Friday, we woke up pretty late; like 11:00 late.  I haven’t done that in sooooo long.  Our room had no windows so it was like a dungeon.  We could have slept forever if the smell of coffee didn’t call to me from the kitchen.  Once we all got moving we headed out to get some breakfast and do some shopping.

We went to Tupelo Honey Cafe for brunch and it was amazing but the pancake I got totally owned me.  I barely ate 1/3 of it and I was soooo full!

Sweet potato pancake with granola

Sweet potato pancake with granola

Bloody Mary the guys got.  It had shrimp, lemons, oranges, peppers, okra, tomatoes, cucumbers, celery and I am sure I forgot a few things.  It was pretty much a meal in itself.

Bloody Mary the guys got. It had shrimp, lemons, oranges, peppers, okra, tomatoes, asparagus, cucumbers, celery and I am sure I forgot a few things. It was pretty much a meal in itself.

After putting myself in a sufficient food coma, I was ready to walk around and shop with the girls.  The boys headed off to a bar.  Really the perfect scenario.

IMG_1756

My new shoes for work.  Are they not the cutest things ever?!

My new shoes for work. Are they not the cutest things ever?!  Plus the shoes were buy one, get one for a penny so I got a great pair of Tom’s wedges!

When the boys finally ran us out of the stores, we headed back to the house and I headed for a run.  I felt like garbage after eating such a decadent breakfast and drinking the night before and I knew a run could help that situation out.  The run was tough because I had to pretty much go straight down hill for the first half and come straight up at the end.  The elevation was tough but made for a beautiful and very different run.  Plus I felt like a whole new woman when I was done.  The curative powers of a run!

We had all intentions of going back out for some dinner but we were having such a great time hanging out at the house that we just decided to stay there and order food in.  It was so great to get some good quality time in with everyone, especially having time to just sit around with the girls.  And the best thing, we didn’t have a TV on or a computer for two and a half days.  I didn’t even have my kindle.  It was so refreshing.

Sunday morning we had to check out of the house by 10 so we went back downtown to get some breakfast before heading out.

Awesome coffee shop in a Double Decker Bus (called Double D's)

Awesome coffee shop in a Double Decker Bus (called Double D’s)

It was such an amazing trip with the best friends.  Such a good thing to do after being bummed about leaving home.  It reminded how much I have here in Charleston too after being reminded how much I miss from home.

Today was my last day of freedom which means tomorrow is the big first day!!  (Side note: after all this time, I got two calls for interviews today.  When it rains it pours I guess.)  I am so sure I will have a ton to report tomorrow!

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Surprise in Asheville

  1. We love Cards Against Humanity. It’s so much fun to play, you just get some friends together and order some pizzas and you’ve got a fun few hours. It looks like you guys had a great time at the cabin and that pancake is huge and looks delicious. Good luck with the new job, love the shoes you got for it!

    • Thank you so much. It was a crazy day, very overwhelming but I think that is every first day of a new job. Can’t wait to go back tomorrow though so that has to be a good sign!

Leave a Reply

