Last Day At Home: Blissful

Yesterday was my last day at home and it was so incredibly bitter sweet.  I had the most amazing day hanging out with my family and catching up with so many old friends.

We started the day meeting my grandma for lunch/brunch.  I didn’t have breakfast before and I have to start my day with breakfast food no matter what so I got a delicious baked oatmeal with fresh strawberries and milk and a side of scrapple (a home town favorite; you don’t want to know what is in it, I promise).

IMG_1692Post meal we decided to share a few desserts and I got this ridiculously decadent chocolate caramel tart.  I didn’t even make it half way through the thing, it was so rich.

IMG_1693Once we made it home from lunch we headed right out on our big bike ride.  The trail that I always ran on from my home to Rehoboth Beach was made into a loop so you don’t have to go out and back.  It is brand new and was one of my only things I knew I really wanted to do while I was home.  The ride was somewhere between 18 and 19 miles and it was amazing.

My little brother at the start

My little brother at the start

Mom, showing off

Mom, showing off

Lady walking her Macaw?!

Lady walking her Macaw?!

IMG_1698IMG_1699

The very first beach I ever lifeguarded on!

The very first beach I ever life guarded on!

IMG_1705IMG_1710IMG_1713

One of the old bunkers that used to be part of the military base, now our state park.

One of the old bunkers that used to be part of the military base, now our state park.

Watch Tower

Watch Tower

Back through Lewes at the end

Back through Lewes at the end

My favorite road!

My favorite road!

IMG_1719

Mom's first selfie!

Mom’s first selfie!

After our bike ride I went out for my tempo run.  I thought I was going to crash and burn after such a long ride but I ended up doing great; my best tempo run yet actually!  I must have been perfectly warmed up.

I race home, showered and we headed out for half price sandwich night at Arenas with my family where I had the California Club Dude (turkey, tomato, avocado, jack cheese and sprouts).

IMG_1725And if that wasn’t enough I finished up the night by going to meet my friend Ryan first at the Dogfish Head restaurant for a drink and to catch up and then out to the Starboard to see Laura Lea.  Man It took me back to the amazing summers on the beach patrol.  Not much has changed.  The faces are different (though many of the same) but the energy and excitement hasn’t been altered one bit!

Laura Lea

Laura Lea

New band member, he was so great!  We approve!

New band member, he was so great! We approve!

Super blurry picture of Ry and I!

Super blurry picture of Ry and I! (and Jordan photo bombing)

To say I paid for it today having 3 hours of sleep after that jam packed day and having to travel super early is an understatement but I had the most amazing day.  I wish I could just do it all over again a few more times.

But now I am back in Charleston, baking late into the night to get ready to leave on one quick little final adventure before starting working.  You’ll be hearing from me from yet another state tomorrow!!  Man all this fun is making me tired!

3 thoughts on “Last Day At Home: Blissful

  1. It looks like you had a lot of fun at home :). I’m glad you got to spend time with your family before starting your job and I love all the pictures because the geography there is so different from SC, especially how the beach looks!

    • It is so crazy how different everything is in my home, but so much the same at the same time if its possible. I think Charleston is the only other place I could live other than where I am from.

Leave a Reply

