The Mother of Invention

Case was up bright and early this morning for his flag football tournament so I took advantage of this and got up too.  I got the the farmers market before 11 am for once and got some really good produce.  I love that I can get:

  • strawberries
  • blueberries
  • tomatoes
  • sweet potatoes
  • peppers
  • onions
  • brussel sprouts
  • squash
  • zucchini
  • peaches
  • carrots
  • jalepenos

for 27 dollars.  That will be more than enough for us to eat good, healthy locally grown food for the week.  You can’t beat it.  Plus everyone there is so friendly and helpful there.

On my way home I found a lost German Shepherd, which of course melted my heart so I stopped my bike got the dog and started knocking on doors.  At the third house, the woman knew the dog was her neighbors and she took the dog back to them.  Definitely the best thing I have done all day. 🙂

When I got home, I headed out for my run (though in hind sight I should have done this before going to the market).  It was hot and sticky but I made it, all nice and sweaty, darting back and forth on sidewalks for shade.

After hanging out the rest of the afternoon, I was in desperate need of some food.  I wasn’t super hungry but I am going to babysit at 5:30 leaving me at yet another awkward time meal wise.  I opened the fridge and decided to experiment.  And quite a wonderful experiment it turned out the be!

Summer Fresh Quesadilla

IMG_1534

Ingredients

  • Olive Oil
  • 1/4 cup sliced strawberries
  • 1/4 cup blueberries
  • whole wheat tortilla
  • Feta Cheese (to preference)
  • Drizzle of honey
  • Vanilla Greek Yogurt (or any flavor you like)

Directions:

1.  Heat olive oil in pan and add torilla shell.

2.  In pan, add sliced strawberries, blueberries and feta to one half of tortilla.  Drizzle honey over this side.

3.  Spread greek yogurt on opposite half of tortilla.

IMG_15334.  Fold tortilla down the center with greek yogurt side up.  Flip once berry side is golden brown.

5.  Slice and Serve!!

Such a great light meal or bigger post work out snack!

2 thoughts on “The Mother of Invention

Leave a Reply

