Challenging vs. Stupid

Monday, I announced my goals for the next six weeks.  Tuesday I COMPLETELY re-evaluated these goals and changed them.   Womp, Womp!

I decided to change the plan for a few reasons:

a) I’m injured.  No matter how much I deny it, I am not 100% right now and the treatment Monday wasn’t the magical fix I was hoping it would be.

b) I’m recovering.  Boston was 3 weeks ago, but from what I have been reading lately, full recovery from a marathon takes about a month.  I shouldn’t be jumping back to my highest mileage weeks 3 weeks after.

c) It’s hot.  I am adjusting to the heat and it is kicking my butt.  I am transitioning back to running in the morning which is always tough.  When I haven’t done it for a few months my body just doesn’t want to move in the morning.

d) I haven’t been enjoying running.  Today’s run was actually my first really good one in about a week.  The past few days I have just been dragging myself through the miles and haven’t been enjoying it at all.

e) This week is crazy.  My family is all coming in to town today for Graduation and Hooding Thursday and Friday so that has my days quite packed.

All this led me to adjustment of my goals.  I could have done the original goals but I wouldn’t have had fun doing it.  I would have suffered through but I want to take these weeks to enjoy running again so that is what I am going to do.

Newly revised goals for 6 weeks:

Miles: 180

Stretching: 180 minutes

Push Ups: 1800

2 thoughts on “Challenging vs. Stupid

  1. I think it’s smart to reevaluate, and your goals are still awesome. I definitely agree with marathon recovery, I only ran one and it was pretty much a flop, but it took me a solid 2 weeks for my body to even feel better. It probably took about a month for my *running* to fully recover… and yours was way faster than mine, more hils, etc. Even when I run a half, it takes me probably a week or so to recover, and I think it’s a bad idea to rush recovery. After all we have our whole lives to run, what is a few days or weeks of low mileage you know?

    I hope you feel 100% soon! Being injured sucks. I’ve hurt my ankle and I’m down for a little while too but we’ll get through it.

    • That is a pretty profound statement…if we don’t take care of ourselves we won’t have our whole lives to run. Gotta take care of the old body, just need to be reminded of it every once in a while!!

Leave a Reply

