Taper (and not a slender candle)

Today was the day for my final 20 miler of my Boston training cycle!  It was supposed to be tomorrow but with the impending rain, I made it today and I am so glad I did.

I started the day with a Green Protein Pancake from Julie on PBfingers.  And yes, I love almost everything she makes!  The darn thing looks really freaky and I was skeptical even while I was dumping it into the pan to cook but it was awesome.  I could barely finish it it was so filling.

IMG_1187

After lazing around for a bit I headed out to the farmer’s market to get some strawberries and I was so disappointed by what was there.  I strolled the whole thing in 2 minutes and headed home, strawberry-less.  After talking to the people I live with, they said that was a new one and they are really just getting started but it was a huge bummer to me.

Once I got home, I decided to quit procrastinating and get on the road.  I had done some hip focused yoga last night and hit my trusty 9 minute yoga for runners before heading out.  The run was about as perfect conditions as you can get.  Upper 50s when I left, topping out in the mid 60s.  There were lots of people out, the wind was refreshing.  Most importantly, I felt good.  I think all the stretching really helped my hip flexor, though I felt it the whole run, the really sharp pain only lasted the first mile or so and it didn’t slow me down at all.  I even was able to run negative splits, finishing in 2:52:59.  Considering the goal pace it always 8:55-9 for these runs, I was more than satisfied with that result, especially when I felt so strong and good at the end!

IMG_1185I pass this sign often when I am running and when I drive to work and I just had to snap a picture.  My other dog people out there, how true is this?!

IMG_1189After my run, I was able to get a bit of work done before the people I live with had some people over to watch the basketball games and I got TOTALLY suckered in.  It was nice to have some actual chill time though and I wouldn’t have traded it.  I will be able to get plenty done in the gross weather that is supposed to be tomorrow.

I got up and went to the bathroom at one point and saw that I got a serious sun burn today…it was barely 60 degrees!  That is crazy!!  But there you see it.  Tomorrow it will just be a tan but right now I am blow away by it.  I guess it is that time again, need to invest in some good sport sunscreen again for the season.

IMG_1192

Hope you are having a great weekend and that none of you are Wisconsin fans.  What a heart breaking loss, but amazing game!!

2 thoughts on “Taper (and not a slender candle)

  1. That’s a great pace for a 20 minute and it sounds like you had beautiful weather for it, so I’m glad you moved it to yesterday instead of today! It hasn’t started raining here yet and I hope it holds off until 10 or so, that way I can get a couple miles in.

    You are right, that green pancake does look kinda freaky but as long as you enjoyed it and it tasted good, that’s what matters, not how the food looks :). It’s probably way healthier than anything I ate yesterday, lol (we went out to Zen Asian).

    Farmers Markets vary here too… there’s one near us and sometimes it’s great, sometimes not so much. I really like the James Island Sunday one.

    • I always go to the farmers market in marion square that is huge and has everything so I think I am just super spoiled. Only three more Saturdays until I can go to the one I really love!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

