I Got Problems

I must have done something to make the running gods angry because this week things are just not going so hot.

1.  There is literally a 100% chance of rain here on Sunday.  That was the planned day for my 20 miler but I’m sorry, thats just not going to happen so I will be taking on my final 20 tomorrow instead.  I think I can handle 5 miles in the rain Sunday but I want to enjoy my 20 (well for a while anyway) thank you very much.

2. I have a concerning hip flexor issue.  So riddle me this (and I am about to get my physical therapy degree in like a month, I should be able to figure this out).  I have sharp, stabbing hip flexor pain only on my right side that only happens when I run.  I have pretty much had this since I did my speed work Tuesday.  Not when I walk, do lunges, squats, stand on my head, NOTHING except the first 1-2 miles of my run.  It dulls out after that amount of distance and by the end of my 8 miles today I didn’t notice it at all (unless I was going up a really big hill –> using my hip flexor a lot).  It is sore to stretch but that is about the only other thing that is a problem.  It even made me look like a ridiculous loser trying to run across the grocery store parking lot in the rain.  It LITERALLY stopped me from being able to run to the front door.  Worst case scenario, it keeps hurting the first few miles of my runs and I can get over it during the race as long as it doesn’t get worse.  But if anyone has had anything like this before, let me know PLEASE.  It is so weird that even my PT brain can’t figure out a solution outside of stretching and icing.

*Disclaimer: I am being the unrealistic patient right now that comes in and says “I have to run 26.2 miles in 2 weeks and I have been training at about 35-50 miles a week for the last 15 weeks and no I won’t rest, but make me better” that is completely unreasonable.

Hopefully this little nuisance (sharp, stabbing, awful, grizzly, mean pain) will just go away tomorrow!

On a better note, I made the recipe from the Runner’s World March issue for dinner tonight and it was amazing!

DSC_0103

It has been an overcast, rainy day and this stew was perfect (even though it was 70).  I just really wanted the portabella mushrooms to be honest.  But I was especially jazzed when Kroger had pre-diced proscuitto saving me that headache.  I highly, highly recommend this recipe.

DSC_0104

 

Runner’s World Bean Bourguignon

 

Happy Friday everyone!  Hope you have a great, relaxing, fun weekend!

4 thoughts on “I Got Problems

  1. We have that stupid 100% chance of rain here too and it majorly sucks, I need to get like 8-10 miles in and that will definitely affect those plans if it rains. Bleh. I ran 12 today and it was fun times!

    Good luck with the hip flexor. I hope it’ll be okay. That’s weird that it perplexes you and you’re a PT student. And I get it that it has to be weird approaching the issue as a PT student, a patient, and as a runner because each of those identities is kinda different.

Leave a Reply

