Spoke Too Soon (and WIAW)

After practically gushing about how well things were going yesterday I guess I deserved a crappy day today.  I will spare the details at risk of sounds whiny, but it was quite trying to say the least.  Thank god for running.

Breakfast held Oats and Honey Special K with almond milk and coffee.  No shocker there.

oats and honey

After finally making it to work 45 minutes late after my morning fiasco of a “non-accident” as I am calling it, I was able to catch up on some things I needed to get done there (luckily I had an open patient appointment at 9) which was fantastic.  The morning flew by and all of a sudden I was eating lunch, and had work to catch up on again.

For lunch I had a Spinach salad with strawberries, blackberries, goat cheese, blueberry craisins and raspberry vinaigrette dressing; cherry tomatoes and a clementine.

IMG_1052

After work I headed to the Starbucks I was raving about yesterday only to find it was closed due to a power outage.  Womp Womp!  I got back in the car and slugged home through traffic resigning that my mind needed to run before I could even think about trying to accomplish anything tonight.  I scarfed down a banana on my commute and had my sneakers on before crossing the threshold of my house to get on the road.

All my bananas always look pathetic!

All my bananas always look pathetic!

It was windy and cold but I so need to do something to calm my mind that I didn’t even notice.  By the time I made it home I had talked myself down to where I always try to arrive: There are things I have control over and things that I don’t.  Those that I do I need to fix, and those that I don’t I need to move on from, being angry changes nothing.  Thank you running for those words of enlightenment!

To top off a great run, I started the 100 push up challenge Monday.  It has you doing push ups 3 days per week, beginning with 5 sets of various numbers of reps and building up.  So when I made it home from my run today I set in on those and added an equal number of squats and crunches to the set.  The whole shebang took me about 12 minutes and if I can do that 3 times a week I should be in business (at least injury prevention wise).  So 53 push ups, squats and crunches later, I hit the shower and made up some dinner.

BBQ turkey meatloaf (from PBfingers), Wild Mushroom and Herb couscous and asparagus

BBQ turkey meatloaf (from PBfingers), Wild Mushroom and Herb couscous and asparagus

 

While finishing up the last two episodes of House of Cards (OMG I love it) I treated myself to a few starburst jelly beans and some yogurt (which I didn’t know wasn’t greek when I bought it, but hey, you win some, you lose some).

IMG_1055

Hope you ate some delicious things today!  Happy hump day!

5 thoughts on “Spoke Too Soon (and WIAW)

  1. I love that brand of yogurt! I especially like the one with slivered almonds, it’s the best. Some of them are Greek though, you just have to watch the labels on it. Also your salad looks amazing, I hadn’t thought of putting blackberries in a salad but I’m going to try it now. I hope you’re having a better day too~ My day yesterday was pretty rough as well.

Leave a Reply

