Climbing Rocks and Being Realistic

This morning I woke up a little earlier than expected and was anxious to get my run out of the way so I could get to a fun filled day with my best friend Hannah.

The run was quite a disaster.  The ENTIRE trail was covered in ice, I would have been better off on ice skates.  The run for today was 1:30 with a 3:1 with the last 1/4 at marathon pace.  I was able to average 8:13 in the last 1/4 because I just ran in the street at the very end, so about 20 seconds off goal pace.  Being 3 weeks into this training cycle and still not really being able to run the way I want to I am arriving at the reality that this race is not likely to be a PR.  It is disappointing but when I texted Casey about my frustration earlier today he brought me back up by saying, “Running the Boston marathon Al, who cares what your time is, not too many people can say that.”  Leave it to him to make me feel better in any situation.

After getting home and finally being able to get my car out I headed up to get breakfast with Hans.  We went to Green Eggs and it was so good!  We couldn’t decide if we wanted sweet or savory so we got one of each and shared!

Tiramisu French Toast

Tiramisu French Toast

The Kitchen Sink

The Kitchen Sink

 

Left overs of the kitchen sink became dinner as well.

After stuffing ourselves, we went home to let our food settle and watch the most recent episode of Downton Abbey before heading to rock climbing!

Han's first climb

Han’s first climb

Hannah and her boyfriend

Hannah and her boyfriend

IMG_0909

I have a much, much, much greater respect for people that do this.  It is HARD!!  I love the mental challenge of it though combined with the physical.  We had a great time but my hands are killing me, should be fun putting alcohol sanitizer on them all day tomorrow.

Weekly Workout Summary

Running: 32.25 miles

Strength: Gabby Douglas Perfect Alignment (15 minutes); Rock Climbing (2 hours)

Yoga: Shawn Johnson’s Stretch (15 minutes) not quite yoga but what I needed for my body for sure

Hope you had a great weekend!  Ready to kick off my final week in Philly.  Although I’ll be bummed to leave, I am ready to get to the promise of 70 degree weather in Atlanta!

 

2 thoughts on “Climbing Rocks and Being Realistic

  1. Where are you finding these gymnast workouts? I should try those, looks like they’re short. i could get em in on my breaks from work.

    I understand being frustrated with training. Yeah it’s Boston so it’s not your goal race really, you already qualified, but still… it’s hard for a runner to just take it easy when there’s a race on the calendar at all. Rock climbing looks like so much fun too.

    • I got all those work outs from Nike Training Club app. If you don’t already have it, get on it girl…they are AMAZING!! I can’t really tell myself I don’t have 15 minutes at some point in my week to get some strengthening in!
      Rock climbing was awesome, but my arms keep getting more and more sore as this day goes on (a little bonus strength training I guess)!

Leave a Reply

