Weekend with Casey

After work Thursday I hurriedly completed my first round of Yasso 800’s before rushing around trying to entertain myself until I could go pick up Casey from the airport.  Longest few hours of my life.

Friday, we got up early and went to Honey’s for breakfast, my absolute hands down favorite in Philly.  Then we headed up to the mountain for the day.  Casey hadn’t been snowboarding in two years and we had never been together so the pressure was on.  I was pretty sure he would be impressed but I certainly didn’t want to let him down.  I was doing so well and got so much support from his friends that I went off a jump much too fast trying to show off and landed squarely on my back.  Whoops!  Luckily (for my ego at least) Casey had his own crash landing about 30 seconds later so we left the terrain park after that.  Probably the best decision we could have made for our own health.

sb with case

After a great day at the mountain we headed to Casey’s hometown to hang out for the weekend.  We had no plans and really just got to spend time with friends and each other.  The only thing I needed to do was my 14 mile long run Saturday.  I got it in, in the cold, cold beautiful morning.  All the wide open space and rolling hills blanketed in snow were welcomed after being in the city for so long now.  The only problem was the lingering disturbance in my back from my tumble the day before.  I toughed it out but it certainly didn’t feel as good as it could have.

run

Sunday was supposed to hold a 7 mile pace run but I reluctantly made the decision to let this one go.  In all honesty I used my back pain as an excuse because I didn’t want to spend any part of that day not with Casey.  As pathetic as it sounds, there it is, the honest truth and I don’t regret it.  That 7 miles is not going to make a slice of difference in my race and I got to spend that time with him which meant so much more.

Today unfortunately held the return to reality.  I put Case in the cab at 7:30, attempted to pull myself together and head to work.  The only bright spot in my day was getting out over 2 hours early which NEVER happens, we are always the last ones to leave.  I was able to get my 7 mile run Friday in today during the daylight and save myself about 30 minutes of sleep Friday morning, got laundry done, studied, cooked dinner, did some work.  It was great to actually have some time to catch up but boy do I wish I could hit rewind to 48 hours ago!

So now I begin the next count down, 11 more days in Philly, 18 days until I visit Charleston and all my friends and sweet, sweet puppy girl there!

2 thoughts on “Weekend with Casey

    • Still fighting against the back but thanks for the support on the skipped run. I feel so terrible any time I do but I just didn’t want to leave his side that day, what a pathetic girl I sound like!

Leave a Reply

