Charleston in Philly Weekend

My two favorite girls from Charleston made the voyage north this past weekend to visit me and we had such an amazing time.  It went so fast, I got out of work at 5 Friday and they had to be at the airport at 8:30 Sunday morning!  We surely made the absolute most of our time though!

Our weekend in pictures…

Strolling around the city before dinner

Strolling around the city before dinner Friday night

Dinner at R2L.  The restaurant was on the 37th floor so it had an amazing view and we got a window booth by some amazing stroke of luck.  My dessert was probably the best I had ever had: Roasted pears with gingerbread french toast!

Dinner at R2L. The restaurant was on the 37th floor so it had an amazing view and we got a window booth by some amazing stroke of luck. My dessert was probably the best I had ever had: Roasted pears with gingerbread french toast!

 

Our reservation wasn’t until 9 so after dinner we were pretty wiped out and came back to my house to hang out and go to sleep.  We must have been really tired because we didn’t wake up Saturday until 10:30!!  After getting a later than expected start, we headed to Honey’s Sit N’ Eat that is on my corner for brunch and it was not a mistake!

At breakfast

At breakfast

French toast stuffed with bananas with dulche de leche sauce...can't even make that up!!

French toast stuffed with bananas with dulche de leche sauce…can’t even make that up!!

 

After breakfast we went to Reading Terminal market and I got some veggies despite the pictures of so many sweets.  It was so overwhelming.  We all ended up getting donuts, they were only 90 cents and they were made fresh right in front of our eyes.  Maybe the best 90 cents I have ever spent

After breakfast we went to Reading Terminal market and I got some veggies despite the pictures of so many sweets. It was so overwhelming. We all ended up getting donuts, they were only 90 cents and they were made fresh right in front of our eyes. Maybe the best 90 cents I have ever spent.

Hannah and I in Reading Terminal Market after devouring our donuts

Hannah and I in Reading Terminal Market after devouring our donuts

We finally pulled ourself away from the food, sugar highs and all and started our walk to Old City to see Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and do some shopping.

We finally pulled ourself away from the food, sugar highs and all and started our walk to Old City to see Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and do some shopping.

After wandering quite literally all over the city we had worked up an appetite so we went to get some cheesesteaks at Jim's on 4th and South.  They were amazing and the girls have already been texting me that they want cheese steaks in Charleston.

After wandering quite literally all over the city we had worked up an appetite so we went to get some cheesesteaks at Jim’s on 4th and South. They were amazing and the girls have already been texting me that they want cheese steaks in Charleston.

 

We took our cheese steaks home to eat them with intentions to regroup and plan out our night.  We were so tired from our jam packed day that we went to the corner store and got some healthy snacks and watched Practical Magic and just hung out.  We had such an amazing weekend and it meant the world to me that they came but it was horrible how fast the time went.

Luckily I can look forward to Casey coming on Thursday!  I can’t believe it is finally here, its been 6 whole weeks since I have seen him.  Thursday is going to be the longest day of my life, his flight doesn’t get in until 10 pm…talk about torture!!

Hope you had a good Monday.

5 thoughts on “Charleston in Philly Weekend

    • I can hardly stand it. Have to tell you, I am pretty jealous of the running weather you have been having. My phone weather app still defaults to Charleston and it fakes me out every time!

      • Aww! Yeah the weather here is great. BTW, my friend moved here from Philly and there’s a restaurant out here, South of Philly, and she said they have the best cheesesteaks. So, when you’re back in Chas., that’s somewhere you could try!

Leave a Reply

