Weekend Away

Over the weekend I met my family to do some skiing.  It was so nice to get out of the city for a few days and get to hang out with my family.

The conditions were incredible (the only up side to it being 20 degrees every day).

With my brothers

With my brothers

Top of the mountain sunset

Top of the mountain sunset

Top of the mountain view

Top of the mountain view, doesn’t even begin to do it justice!

After a full day of skiing, my brothers went back to stay in a cabin with their friends and my mom, dad and I headed out to find some food.  We headed out in a ton of snow and stopped at the first place we passed caused Thunder Road.  I have to say, this was a place I never expected to be with my parents.  It was a dive bar, with a ton of bikers and a pretty hard core rock band and we had the BEST time!  The band was actually really good and the burgers were incredible after a long day on the mountain.  We had to record a part of it so that the boys would even believe we went to this place.

Unfortunately, I had to head back this morning and get back to real life.  I stopped at the grocery store on the way back since I was already out of my parking spot I wanted to make the best of it.  When I got home, someone on my street was leaving which was amazing luck, parking here is an absolute nightmare!!  Simple joys in life, right?

After parking and getting my groceries put away, I hit the road for my last run before commencing training for BOSTON!!  It was so strange weather wise, I had the wind at my back in the beginning and it was snowing like crazy, when I turned around I was headed into the wind and the snow picked up even more for about a mile but then the sun came out, the wind slowed down but it kept right on snowing.  I was amazing.  I wasn’t cold and I was running in the snow, it really doesn’t get better than that!

Along the River Trail

Along the River Trail

 

IMG_0771

Workout Recap

Running: 26.26 miles (easy week in rough running conditions before starting Boston training)

Yoga: 30 minutes

Strength: none (or 1 whole day of snowboarding, I think that counts)

Hope you had a great weekend!

8 thoughts on “Weekend Away

  1. Looks like you had a fun time! We have some neat dive bars here, have you ever been to Tattooed Moose? Clay and I went recently, I want to try Royal American too :). I’ve never been skiing and I don’t like the cold, but it would be neat to try it, I bet it’s definitely a good workout too.

  2. AHH BOSTON TRAINING!! HERE WE GOOO! I love your skiing photos, I haven’t been to the mountains like this in years. I used to snowboard, I need to go at least once sometimes soon!

Leave a Reply

