Productivity, well as long as there is reward

Today I woke up about two hours before my 7:15 alarm and then could only return to a slight sleep, convinced I wasn’t going to wake up to my alarm and was going to miss the group run, which really wouldn’t have even been a big deal.

I met up early with one a few of the guys from the group to get a few extra miles in before meeting up with the group for the 8.5 scheduled miles.  About a mile into our pre-run-run it started to rain, then pretty hard and by the time we met the rest of the group I was soaked.  Luckily it was significantly warmer today or it would have been super miserable.  The first two and a half miles of the run I was kind of in between pace groups but with about 6 miles to go I caught up to a woman and ended up spending the following miles getting to know her.  She was fantastic and had such amazing life experience like being part of the Peace Corp and living in Fiji!  Did you know you can’t have your knees or shoulders exposed there as a woman.  She was telling me she would have to wear a floor length skirt to RUN!  Crazy, and way to go for her dedication.

All in all I ended up covering 14.2 miles (a bit more than the 13 planned miles).  I had planned to go with the group for coffee and breakfast but I met another girl who lived near me that I was going to walk back with and she was leaving then.  All the better though because the coffee place was further away from my house and I was absolutely soaked and starting to get pretty cold.  By the time I made it home I was so glad I skipped it because I felt like I could barely move my hands.  I don’t think I have ever had a better shower in my life.

After a productive morning, I was bound and determine to get some studying done.  I had decided to take another board practice exam.  These things are mentally brutal, 200 questions, no distractions, just your brain constantly whirring.  By the last 10 questions I hardly knew how to read any more.  I ended up with a 5% improvement since the last one so my studying this week has been helping, thank goodness!

Upon completion I was brain dead and turned on the football game to zone out.  At half time I decided a cheese steak was in order after my brutal run this morning and brutal brain suicide this afternoon.  My mind and body deserved a treat and what better when I am in the land of the cheese steak!

DSC_0104

Working hard does have its benefits…yumm!!

3 thoughts on “Productivity, well as long as there is reward

  1. How was the turnout for the Saturday group. I have another group that I run with on Saturdays about 8 months out of the year, but they aren’t meeting this time of year and I could use the group atmosphere back in my life. Hopefully this week at work isn’t as busy and I actually make it to the lunch room more than one day of the week!

    • I couldn’t believe the turnout honestly! It was raining pretty steadily and there were a good 20-25 people there. Hope to actually be able to see and chat with you at some point this week and maybe set up a time to run!

  2. Sounds like you had a good group run, really awesome that you met some new people too. I love meeting and talking to people at group runs, you never know what brings people there and what life experiences they have. Glad you improved on the practice test too!

Leave a Reply

