Be Careful What You Wish For

The last few weeks before leaving Charleston the temperatures were unseasonably warm.  I mean, two days before Christmas it was 80 and I ran in shorts and a sports bra!  Well those days are long gone.

New Years day I put in an 8 mile run then my family hit the road to go ski at Camelback Mountain.  We got up there checked into the hotel and headed to get some dinner.  It was cold and the forecast was calling for 8 inches plus of snow.  You can’t ask for better weather to ski!

Thursday morning, I woke up early and headed to the hotel fitness room to get my tempo run in before grabbing some continental breakfast (oatmeal with granola, brown sugar and granola) and piling in the car to go to the mountain.

The day was awesome.  It wasn’t too cold, there were that many people since it was a week day and we waited in virtually no lines.  We went for a solid 8 hours and were pretty beat by the time we left the mountain around 7:30/8 o’clock.  The only hitch was when my strap broke but luckily I was able to go to the ski shop and they fixed it up for $15.  The guy was really nice and we chatted about life, school, etc while he mended my broken baby.  It is so nice to meet genuinely friendly people out in the world.

Cole and I waiting for the rest

Cole and I waiting for everyone

Cole, ready to go

Cole, ready to go

Ben catching up

Ben catching up

Dad, the sole skier of our pack

Dad, the sole skier of our pack

 

By the time we headed back to the hotel the roads were pretty bad and we had to have quite a makeshift dinner from what the hotel “shop” had to offer.  Lots of microwave meals (womp, womp).

This morning we woke up and it started like groundhogs day.  I headed to the gym again, got in an easy few miles then headed to meet the team for breakfast.  We loaded up the car, this time with all of our things since we were checking out, then headed to the mountain.  Today however was BITTERLY cold.  Like no skin exposed kind of cold.  Like the coldest cold I have ever felt in my life.  Once we got there we decided we weren’t adequately prepared for the elements and bailed on the day.

After making the final decision, begrudgingly I’ll tell you, I decided on a whim to check the weather on my phone.  4 degrees with a WIND CHILL OF -28 DEGREES!!  Are you kidding me!?

I can’t deny I was bummed to miss our second day but without the proper shielding for our faces it just wouldn’t have been smart.  I think I would have been fine if I didn’t need to use my mouth, eyes or nose every again; not important right?  As we drove away I just kept thinking that I was begging for this barely a week ago, just maybe not to that extreme.

At least I know when Casey comes we will be going again which made leaving today a little less of a bummer.

Tomorrow brings the big move to Philadelphia.  Fingers crossed for a smooth move and a close parking spot!

6 thoughts on “Be Careful What You Wish For

  1. I can’t even imagine that kind of cold (FYI, I have lived in SC all my life). I don’t blame you not to ski that day- or even leave indoors, yikes. I’m glad you had fun though and got some quality time with the family in. Good luck with your move!

  2. I’m glad you had fun Alex! It’s so much fun to read about your adventures. I’m sure Casey was jealous! Best of luck to you in Philly! Welcome to the cold, cold North!

Leave a Reply

