Surprise!

Usually I do my goals post on New Years Eve but I knew that this New Years Eve was going to hold bigger, more important things.

Back in October my mom called me and asked me what I was doing New Years Eve Day.  I pretty much said I have no idea mom, its October crazy lady!  She told me she had been working on a surprise for me but didn’t know if it was going to happen but it was during the day that day.  I told her I would keep my schedule clear and kinda forgot about it.

Then a few weeks ago I was trying to decide when I was coming up after Christmas and asked my mom about this mystery surprise and she said, “Well I have to sign us up for it so I guess we are going to do it.”  So I asked her if she was going to walk a race because I knew she had been walking everyday.  She responded by saying,

“No, I am going to run it!!!”

My mom have never played a sport or really done any physical fitness in her whole life so this was a HUGE, incredible surprise to me.

So today was the day and she was AMAZING!

Finish

Finish

 

She wanted me to run hard so I ran a 20:30 (which was okay considering the cold and wind I am not used to) then I doubled back and picked her and my dad up with a little less than a mile to go.  To make it even sweeter, today was their 20th anniversary!

What was also really awesome was the post race pancake breakfast!  There are always bagels and bananas and apples and that stuff but the pancakes were an awesome surprise.

IMG_0072

IMG_0073

IMG_0071

Awesome way to end an amazing year.  So proud of my momma!

7 thoughts on “Surprise!

  1. I’m really proud of your mom too! I want my mom to do a race with me one day, like you i would run it (but not that fast, I’m def. not as fast as you) and then just go back and cool down and run in with my mom. I think it’s sweet your whole family got involved. I bet your mom was really inspired by you, qualifying for the Boston marathon when training and also going to school here in Chas. What a great way to spend the end of 2013!

    Those pancakes look so delicious- I love any run or race with pancakes at the end.

  2. Aww that is amazing! It means so much to me that my mom loves to run and pushes me to do my best. So glad you could share that with your mom as well!!

    • My mom has always supported me and my running but had never tried herself so this was the ultimate surprise! It is sooooo awesome that you and your mom can run together…maybe some day soon that will be me and my mom too!

Leave a Reply

