Conversations with a Stranger

Today brought the glorious (can you hear the sarcasm) return to work.  I was ready to roll, rejuvenated for the week when I got there and the computers were down.  Talk about a damper on a Monday morning.  This wasn’t a huge deal, it just made a lot more work because everything had to be hand written and then typed in the computers once they finally came back up.

After work I begrudgingly headed to the gym and mustered out four crappy miles on the treadmill and a 30 minute Nike Training Club Workout (Body Remix).  I was so glad when I was done as always but I was really struggling to get through it today.  Talk about a case of the Mondays!

As soon as I got home Casey told me we were going to a friends house to watch the game and we picked up wings on the way for dinner.  When we got back to the house with the wings, one type we got were super, overly crispy and I volunteered to take them back.  This is not something I ever do so I felt bad walking in the door.  I showed them to the bar tender and they apologized, said they would get me new wings and apologized (great service really).  I sat down at the bar to wait and struck up a conversation with the guy next to me.

We didn’t talk about anything important: sports, my time in Charleston, where he grew up, school, more sports, a little fantasy, where I was from, etc.  But it was so refreshing to talk to a complete stranger for twenty minutes purely for the enjoyment of another’s company.  He was a very nice person and as superficially as I know him, I enjoyed our time chatting.

Will I ever see this guy again, probably not but as I was leaving he said Happy Holidays and put a smile on my face.  It just proved to me that people are inherently good and a warm, fuzzy feeling can come from the stranger sitting on the next bar stool.

Leave a Reply

