New Kicks

After officially putting 752.19 miles on my sneakers, it was finally time for another pair.  Because my next pair was going to be my training for Boston shoes, I decided to go to The Foot Store in Mount Pleasant and get their opinion on what was best for what I was about to do.  Unfortunately it was super busy during lunch while I was in there (totally wasn’t planning for that) and by the time they made it to me I had about 5 minutes to see what they could show me and make a pick.  Luckily I have been doing this long enough that I know what I like for the most part after a few steps in the shoe.

I came home with these guys…

Brooks Ravenna

Brooks Ravenna

Retirement for an amazing shoe, carrying me just further than the equivalent of Charleston, SC to Easton, PA (Casey's hometown)

Retirement for an amazing shoe, carrying me just further than the equivalent of Charleston, SC to Easton, PA (Casey’s hometown)

So today I laced them up and tried them out.  I was a little nervous not only trying a new shoe but also a new brand of shoe.  I have been in Asics for about a year and a half and loved them but I have to say I am happy with the switch so far.  It didn’t hurt that today was one of those beautiful running days that you really only can dream up.  There was a slight breeze, the sun was setting, about 70 degrees and people out everywhere running.  Nothing really pumps me up more than seeing someone else enjoying what I am too.  Just an overall great work out, plus it was Friday, so really just try to beat that!

Join me in lacing up Saturday for a long fun run with a friend (and some after run mimosas!)

Join me in lacing up Saturday morning for a long fun run with a friend (and some after run mimosas!)

3 thoughts on “New Kicks

  1. Those shoes are nice! They look well supportive too, not that shoe mechanics is my strong point! I’ll be joining you somewhat on the running Saturday morning, apart from mine will be in the form of a rugby game, on a freeeeezing cold pitch in cloudy UK! I wish I was running where you are!

  2. I wore those for awhile. TrySports sold me on the Mizuno Wave Inspire the last time I was there (btw, Mizuno Wave Inspire was my first pair of “real” running shoes 3 years ago). I did the Brooks Ravenna awhile a couple years ago and didn’t care for it but I think this edition is better, several of my friends have those shoes and love them. You got a ton of miles out of your old pair, I’ve never worn a shoe that many miles but now I know it’s possible. I track the miles on mine and it seems like they never wear out, maybe bc I just don’t run that much.

    Kudos to you for not letting the Foot Store put you in Newton’s :).

Leave a Reply

