Christmas Light Run!

Yes you read that right and no I am not someone that gets Christmas crazy super early.  I am a firm wait until after Thanksgiving for Christmasy things kind of girl.  However, when James Island County Park is hosting a fun run/walk to see the lights in slow motion outside of the car, I had to break the rules!  The past two years Lindsey and I have gone with Casey and her now husband and the boys want to just drive as fast as possible and get it over with so we were very excited to see it at our pace!

After work Thursday I rushed over to the park office to pick up my ticket and headed to the park.  I got there almost an hour early so I spent the last little bit of sunlight doing a quick run before the event.  It got pretty dark at the end and let me tell you, if you want to run fast, run in the dark in the woods with creatures scurrying about.  This girl was hitting 6:15 miles just to get back to my car where the light was!

At 6:40ish we lined up at the Christmas village and set off on our walk through the park.  I am glad I got my run in before because Jenna, Lindsey and I ended up just walking the course, talking and enjoying the light displays.  We hadn’t all been together in quite a while and Lindsey had just gotten back from her honeymoon in Italy so we had A LOT to catch up on.

2013-11-07 19.09.54

Love the yellow ribbon on the tree

Love the yellow ribbon on the tree

2013-11-07 19.24.30

2013-11-07 19.31.002013-11-07 20.18.05

The sand sculpture every year is always so incredible!

The sand sculpture every year is always so incredible!

We had such a good time and it was definitely worth breaking the Christmas rules.  Don’t worry, there are no stockings hung or christmas lights out yet, they will all stay safely packed away until November 29th.  I am not going to lie though, it did get me pretty pumped for the holidays!!

Hope you are all having a great weekend!

One thought on “Christmas Light Run!

  1. I had a lot of friends go to this, it seems super fun… I really wish I could have gone, maybe next year. We went to see the lights last year and it was neat! I’m like you though, I’d just walk it and enjoy it and not run through. Glad you got your run in before!

Leave a Reply

