James Island Connector Run and BC Team Fun

Since Friday has been super busy and so much fun!!

Friday:

I woke up early to run finally because I knew after work was going to be busy.  It was still dark when I was done running which didn’t make me a happy camper but oh well, the time change should help that for a little bit.

At work we had a pot luck lunch because the other student had her last day before leaving for her next rotation.

2013-11-01 12.32.55

Kristen's Chocolate Cake with Seafoam Frosting...seriously best frosting in the world!!

Kristen’s Chocolate Cake with Seafoam Frosting…seriously best frosting in the world!!

 

2013-11-01 12.33.19

To say I was stuffed after lunch would be the understatement of the year.  (And after the rest of the weekend, I am absolutely ready to put some good food in my body tomorrow).

After work we went to Holy City Brewery for a quick beer before I had to head downtown and get everyone’s packets for the race.

2013-11-01 18.36.02

I finally made it home at 7:30 where we hung out until everyone made it here around 11.  We chatted and caught up for a little bit before heading to bed.

Saturday

We woke up around 7, had some light fuel and coffee before heading over to the start of the race.  I ended up seeing so many people I knew at the race.  A lot that I had met at the Charlestowne Landing 5k series over the summer, people from school, just from all over the place!!

The girl that now lives in my old room is a first year PT student and runner and we ended up running the race together and having a great race.  The beginning was super crowded and we were way too far back to start so we had to do a lot of dodging in the beginning but we made up time well and were able to finish in 43:30.  We averaged 6:58 miles and her goal was to hit 7:30s so we blew that out of the water!!

2013-11-02 09.14.58

Even better, Casey ran his first 5k!!  I was so excited we did it together!

Case and I Post Race

Case and I Post Race

I ended up getting 45th overall out of around 700 and first in my age group.  I’d call that a successful Saturday morning.  Marianne got second in our age group (20-24)!!

2013-11-02 10.37.31

After the race we hung out for a while and had some beers before heading home and showering.  We went to lunch at the Craftsman and stayed for a while sampling their 8 oz. beers and just hanging out.

After a nice stroll around downtown we came back to the house and played Cards Against Humanity (which is basically an inappropriate version of apples to apples) until it was time to go to the Will Hoge concert.

Girls

Girls

Bourbon Chase Team (well most of us)

Bourbon Chase Team (well most of us)

 

The concert was awesome, we had such a fantastic time.  I was skeptical because I had never heard of the guy before and I am not a fan of going to a concert if I don’t know the songs to sing along.  The guy was great though and the company always makes a difference!!

Sunday

This morning we all got up and decided to head to Folly for brunch at Lost Dog before everyone had to head home.  It was the perfect cap to an incredible weekend.

Pumpkin Pancakes with Candied Walnuts and Bananas!

Pumpkin Pancakes with Candied Walnuts and Bananas!

 

Quick stroll on the beach

Quick stroll on the beach

 

I was sad to see them go but was glad to get a serious nap in this afternoon!  It was so nice to be able to see my team again and we have made plans to go to a football game in a few weekends to hang out with them again.  It is much better when we have a plan in motion for the next event!

P.S. How is it Monday again?!

7 thoughts on “James Island Connector Run and BC Team Fun

  1. Good job on that race. That is awesome!! That was a super difficult course and my legs felt like they were going to fall off while I was out and about on Saturday afternoon. I am definitely a Charleston runner- I don’t mind running in bajillion degree heat and 90% humidity, but those hills are rough- even with my conscious effort to run the bridge semi-often.

    • I could not agree more. I remember two years ago when I drove in to Nashville to run the marathon there I almost cried when I saw all the hills. The bad part there was heat, humidity and hills, triple whammy!
      The second to last hill on the JIC was the killer for sure!!

  2. Congratulations on your race, that’s an awesome time on that course and congrats to Marianne for doing so well even when she didn’t realize she could run that fast. Glad Casey ran it too, this was a really fun one for everyone including first timers (although a difficult one for first timers!). And way to go for winning your age group! Sounds like a great weekend overall with lots of fun, running, food and cards against humanity (we have that game too and it always gets crazy around here when we play it).

    All that potluck food, especially that cake, looks so delicious! I’m kinda jealous of that and your downtown eats and bars. Not that I can’t go to them but it’s a pretty long way to drive from here.

      • I don’t actually drink beer, but I think my husband would like Craftsman. My church actually has a book club that meets there (It’s a different church, we will say that… which is why I like it 😉 ), but I’m not a part of it. I love going downtown but usually end up at Kaminsky’s getting sweets… everything is better downtown :).

Leave a Reply

