Jog in the Park

This weekend consisted of a lot of couch sitting.  Yep, I was a huge couch potato both days.  Other than a nice slow run with Casey through town yesterday and a Halloween party last night we spent a lot of time catching up on sleep and watching football (college and pro alike).  After last weekend I needed the catch up on the sleep.

Rosie the Riveter

Rosie the Riveter

 

Case and I

Case and I

After spending so much time training hard the past few months, then getting ready for the relay it is nice to be in a place right now where I can just run.  Some days I feel really great and can go out and run really hard and other days when I feel like my legs are full of lead, thats okay too, I just trudge along at whatever easy pace I settle in to.  It is nice not to put any particular pressure on any run.

I had been afraid that this cut back in intensity would put me in a bad place to start training for Boston when the time comes (late January I am thinking).  So with that I started doing some research and it turns out these breaks are not only okay, but vital to good competition.

Some benefits include:

  • Mental break from intense training (remembering why you love running)
  • Muscle and connective tissue repair
  • Maintaining fitness: this one is tough to find the balance but you don’t have to go at the same crazy intensity to keep from losing fitness (crazy right)
  • Building a foundation: having a good strong base can come from consistent effort and an easy logging of miles to make the next start of training cycle easier

So with this I have been enjoying running with Casey, Scarlett (the pup) and anyone else who wants to run.  More importantly I have been purely blissful in my running without putting any pressure or importance on any particular run.  Before I know it I will be back in the swing of things training for Boston but I know I will be physically, and more importantly mentally ready to tackle the challenge!

5 thoughts on “Jog in the Park

  1. Your costume is pretty awesome and very creative.

    I am also enjoying the break from having a “goal race” on the schedule. I still ended up PRing a short course 5K on Saturday, I’m not sure where it came from, but I guess the increased endurance from my marathon has some benefits.

    I’m really glad to hear another runner who’s taking a glorified break and enjoying it. After my marathon, the last thing I wanted to think about was another marathon or half with weeks of training. I’m sticking to 5Ks and 10Ks for awhile and people give me a hard time about it~ I have friends who did MCM who were already talking about their next marathons a few weeks ago, and I’m just like…. uh, can I dress up in a costume and run around or something fun already, lol?

    We spent a lot of time football watching too! Great games this weekend :).

  2. I don’t run full marathons, but after my half marathons I like to take some downtime and either run shorter distances, or just do different activities!! Right now I am doing a bit of both! LOVE your Halloween outfit, you’re too cute.

    • Really any break after any long training cycle is necessary in my book. Any break I take it so much more important for me mentally than anything else.
      Thanks for the love, I was pretty proud of that costume for sure!!

Leave a Reply

