What I Ate Wednesday: COMPS DAY

Monday was the big day (in case anyone missed that if thats possible).  That meant getting up a little early to get a good hearty breakfast in.  The last thing I want is to be the girl who’s stomach is rumbling so loud in a huge exam room that everyone can hear it!  Boy do I have a recipe for you.  Nothing earth shattering (as far as creative) but the proportions were PERFECT!!

Breakfast: Peanut Butter, Banana and Honey Oatmeal

DSC_0021

This stuff has some serious staying power.  I even made it again for Casey and I for breakfast today and he loved it!

Ingredients:

1/2 cup old fashioned oats

1 cup almond milk

dash of salt

1 tbsp natural peanut butter

Honey to taste

1 small banana (or 1/2 large), sliced

dash of cinnamon

Directions:

1.  Bring almond milk to slight boil then add oats and stir.

2.  Reduce heat slightly and occasionally stir until oats are thick and creamy (about 10 minutes).

3.  Reduce heat to low and stir in peanut butter and honey.  Allow to marry while slicing banana.

4.  Stir in banana and serve with desired about of cinnamon on top.

Lunch:  Vanilla Nonfat Yogurt with Pumpkin Flax Granola and a Peach (I was so full until like 2 from breakfast I could barely even think about lunch!)

DSC_0017

We had to get to the store Monday afternoon because we barely had any food left so before we went I have a quick snack to keep me from buying things we didn’t need.

Pretty delicious (but not as good as the blueberry almonds)

Pretty delicious (but not as good as the blueberry almonds)

Dinner: Almost Summer Wrap from Black Bean (again!!); when I finished my long run at my friends house we either had to leave there right then or stay for the fantasy draft; we opted to stay.  Everyone else was getting Chinese food but this close to race time I didn’t really want to eat that so Casey so amazingly made a special trip to Black Bean to get me my wrap!

Goat cheese, chicken, mandarin oranges, mixed greens, candied almonds and raspberry vinagrette with Greek yogurt and granola

Goat cheese, chicken, mandarin oranges, mixed greens, candied almonds and raspberry vinagrette with Greek yogurt and granola

 

Monday turned out to be a pretty healthy, packed with power food day!!

4 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday: COMPS DAY

    • I used be super addicted to cereal but it just doesn’t do the trick for that long (as much as I love it). I made a chocolate peanut butter oatmeal this morning that I will have to post too…it was AWESOME!! Like healthy reeses for breakfast!

  1. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday | runs4treats

  2. Pingback: MIA | runs4treats

Leave a Reply

