Digging Deep

This past week, running has been absolutely brutal.  It has finally become a true Charleston summer and I have been dying of heat (and not just while I am running).  We have been reaching 100 degree days with “feels like” temperature of 115 degrees.  It also doesn’t help that I haven’t been getting up to run in the morning this past week so I have been waiting until the evening, but even then it is still scorching hot.  It honestly just hasn’t been fun; lead legs, dehydration, 15 straight weeks of running 6 days/week it is just all getting to me.  Luckily I only have 3 and 1/2 weeks of training left and I will be going back to school in a week so I will be more motivated to get up early again.  I just can’t get myself out of bed at 5:30 am when I have nothing going on the rest of the day.

Luckily, I had taken a picture of a passage in Runner’s World that I knew I would need to read, probably sometime soon.  I stumbled across it yesterday, timed perfectly:

“It’s an amazing thing, running- especially at that maximum turnover.  It’s also amazing to never do something again because you can’t.  I’d like to transfer that concept into everyone’s head, because inevitably it will happen to all of us.” 

~Andre Kajlich,

August 2013 Runners World

As brutal as my runs have been of late, I can still do it, and in the end that is all that matters.

Leave a Reply

