Living in Luxury

Today started by dragging myself out of bed at 7:15 to go for my long run (only 12 miles this week).  The first hour was fine, the second was almost unbearable.  It was so incredibly hot.  By 8:30 it was 90 degrees and the air was so thick and humid.  Any time I was in the sun with no shade available I was certain I wasn’t going to make it.  I was able to finish it out but boy did I have to dig deep to make it happen this morning!

After showering, having some breakfast and enjoying a huge cup of coffee I headed back down town to hit the farmers market.  I got everything I needed (more fresh pasta, veggies and fruit) and then wandered around taking pictures.

Saw this in the sidewalk, love!

Saw this in the sidewalk, love!

When I got home, I made a quick egg sandwich and a smoothie for the road and headed to the beach for the afternoon with Jenna and Lindsey.  It was the perfect beach day, there was a slight breeze to keep the temperature from being overwhelming.

Toes in the water!

Toes in the water!

2013-08-10 17.13.50-1

We didn’t get off the beach until 5:30!  We didn’t get there until around 2 but I was shocked we stayed so late.  It was just such a nice, peaceful day.  When I finally made it home, Scarlett was playing with the puppy from next door and it just about melted my heart.

2013-08-10 17.56.44

Pretty much in love!

Pretty much in love!

The rest of the night included reading my book and just hanging out.  Man do I love my break times!!  Tomorrow I will have to start studying for my comprehensive exam a little bit, just to do something productive.

Hopefully tomorrow’s run won’t be as painful (and sweaty) but we will see, hopes aren’t high!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Living in Luxury

  1. I’m also training for a marathon, and it’s so weird when your long run seems short. Last week mine was 10 miles and it seemed so much easier than the 16-19 ones I’ve been doing! I never thought I’d be so glad to “only” run 10 miles!

    I haven’t been to the Farmer’s Market yet bc I don’t like parking downtown, but I heard the stuff doesn’t sell out super quick like I thought, so I may go eventually. I wish I lived closer to Downtown Charleston (I don’t… lol!).

    Looks like you had fun at the beach!

    • The best part is when people ask you how far you ran that morning and you say “Just 12 today” and they look at you like you are nuts. I always follow with, “well compared to 20 last week!”
      You have to get to the market, I never make it until like 11 (dragging Casey out before then is impossible) but they always have everything I need. And we always find parking easily on Charlotte Street!

  2. Good morning! LOVE your sidewalk picture. So sweet and beautiful! Sounds like you had a busy, but relaxing day. I also had my long run yesterday, and even though I was up early, I wasn’t up early enough to beat the heat. It was rough. Glad you stuck with it and got through your miles. I had to stop just a little early than I anticipated. Anyways, stop by and say hello sometime. Found your from FF!

    • Thank you for stopping in. I feel like I may need to just run at like 1 in the morning if I have any hope of avoiding the heat! Can’t wait for fall and some nice weather!
      And as far as stopping a little early, that is usually the smarter thing to do, your body hurts for a reason (we runners are just head strong and often ignore it, right?).

Leave a Reply

