Trip Home in Pictures

So first off, I am sorry for being the worst blogger ever.  Those few days at home were an absolute whirlwind.

Many of my food endeavors will be captured in my WIAW this week so I will skip the redundancy there.

Post 20 mile run, we went to Surf Bagel for breakfast (my absolute favorite) and then I took Casey around downtown Rehoboth, went shopping, had a beer at a local bar/restaurant (Arena’s).  We headed home mid afternoon and went to pick crabs!

2013-07-18 20.07.33

I have missed this so much.  I love a good southern oyster roast, but nothing beats picking crabs.  This was Casey’s first crab picking adventure and of course my mom and I competed to teach him the ‘best technique’.  What ended up happening though was that my dad was the best and he learned by watching him rather than listening to either of us blabber on.  (Mine is clearly the best, it was just too sophisticated for a beginner!)  Just kidding!

First thing Friday, I took Casey to the cafe (Cafe Azafran) in downtown Lewes where I worked for part of high school.  I got my absolute favorite, baked oatmeal with steamed skim milk and Black Magic coffee.  It was so hot and I was sweating bullets the whole time but it was perfect.

Baked Oatmeal

Baked Oatmeal

The afternoon held a trip to the beach with my friend Megan where Casey and I realized we have become southern babies about the cold northern water, CHILLY!  After walking the beach and seeing all my old friends from the beach patrol (man I miss those days), we went home for a barbecue my mom put together so we could see all the family.  I swear she made enough food for 50 people, there were about 15!

Mom, grandma and me!

Mom, grandma and me!

Case and I

Case and I

Mom, Mommom, Poppop and I

Mom, Mommom, Poppop and I

Pretty donuts from a new local bakery.  The lemon cake she got was to die for and all the specialty chocolate ones were amazing too!!  Thank god I don't live there any more!

Pretty donuts from a new local bakery. The lemon cake she got was to die for and all the specialty chocolate ones were amazing too!! Thank god I don’t live there any more!

 

After stuffing my face for a few hours, a few friends of ours that used to live in Charleston but now live in Maryland made the trip over and we met a friend of mine from college out in Rehoboth.  We started off at the token Rehoboth bar, the Purple Parrot.  I think the boys were a bit flustered but we had a great time.  Then we took the Jolly trolley over to Dewey and went to the Starboard for a few Orange Crushes (my summer favorite).  I was able to see so many people I knew, I honestly felt like a minor celebrity.

The girls

The girls

Much love from Ryan

Much love from Ryan

He is 6'7", nothing like making a short girl shorter

He is 6’7″, nothing like making a short girl shorter

Saturday morning brought an early morning run, a hair cut and a last breakfast with my mom where my little brother has his first job!!  I can’t believe he is old enough!!!!  Then we hit the road to head north for the wedding.

The wedding was incredible.  The venue was awesome, it was an old theater.  We came into a receiving area, then went up to a room for the ceremony, then went to the balcony area for a cocktail hour where you could over look where the reception was going to be and then we headed down to the main theater area for dinner and dancing and surprise band LAURA LEA!!  This is a band we used to go see every Wednesday at the Starboard for as long as I can remember so getting to see them and being with all the people that mean the most to me made the trip 100% worth it; absolute cherry on top of a truly unbelievable trip.

2013-07-20 16.28.41

View from the cocktail hour

View from the cocktail hour

Beautiful tables

Beautiful tables

LAURALEA!!

LAURALEA!!

Case and I

Case and I

The Groom and I, man do I miss this guy!!

The Groom and I, man do I miss this guy!!

With the bride and Lauren!!

With the bride and Lauren!!

Gorgeous dress!

Gorgeous dress!

Sunday morning was back to reality and the dreaded trip back.  It didn’t go very smoothly but I luckily felt pretty great considering the circumstances.

If you made it through this whole thing, my mind is blown!!  Today’s return to reality (and speed work) was not welcomed, hopefully tomorrow with set me back in a better routine!

What is your favorite part of going home?  Do you get to visit home often (if you do, I am sooooo jealous!)?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Trip Home in Pictures

Leave a Reply

