20 miles in the Hometown

It is rare that I am actually excited about heading for a 20 mile run.  Anxious is usually a better descriptor. But yesterday, I viewed this run as a nice slow way to see everywhere I love all by myself!

After getting in at about 12:15 and not actually going to bed until 1, the 6 am alarm seemed to come in a flash.  I got up, got dressed, scarfed a banana and shot out the door.

Beginning

Beginning

On the trail

On the trail

Other side of the same spot

Other side of the same spot

The more rural side of where I live

The more rural side of where I live

Downtown rehoboth

Downtown Rehoboth

Boardwalk

Boardwalk

Rehoboth Beach

Rehoboth Beach

The shack.  This was the headquarters for the beach patrol I worked on four the best four summers of my life!

The shack. This was the headquarters for the beach patrol I worked on four the best four summers of my life!

Silver Lake, Dewey

Silver Lake, Dewey

After this point it was pretty much all the same stuff back.  Thank goodness for the trail because it got very hot in a last 7 miles or so.  There was coverage until the last 2 and then I just had to suck it up.

The run went really well though.  It was so nice to be on the trail and the boardwalk, a little more forgiving surface than the pavement I am usually pounding.  I averaged 8:30 (which was faster than I was intending, but oh well) and I did my last mile in 8:10 so thats a good sign that I could still kick it in at the end in the heat.

I can’t believe I only have 2 more really long runs (both 20’s) until I start to taper (and I still haven’t missed a single run)!

Today, we are heading to the beach to see all the old guard friends and go for a beach run and then we are have a family barbecue.  Pictures to come!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “20 miles in the Hometown

Leave a Reply

