The Blister Strikes Back

Last Friday was a fairly wet day but ended up clearing up in time for our long run.  However, the roads and our trail was left a wet, muddy mess.  This combined with new shoes I am in the process of breaking in brought me this lovely gift (starting at mile 4/19, womp womp)…

Saturday Version

Saturday Version

In my Saturday class, everyone kept asking me if I was going to pop it.  I said, “No, for once I am going to be good and let this thing work itself out.”  That plan was going great until Casey kicked it in the grocery store on accident.  I swear people probably thought he was abusing me I yelled so loud.  So the leave it alone plan failed.

Sunday during my run it bugged me a little but nothing crazy, the top skin layer was still there for protection.  Today though I decided to put a Blister Pod on it before I left for my 45 minute tempo run.  Well, that thing worked it self loose at about mile 2.  It didn’t hurt that bad, more that it was just annoying.  Then when I got home I tried to take the shriveled mess off and it ripped off the top layer of skin.  That felt awesome, and the shower that followed felt even better, let me tell ya.

Now it looks like this

Now it looks like this

I know this looks better, but I swear it hurts 100x more.  So I got some supplies today before my upcoming runs.

Loaded down!

Loaded down!

My plan is to use a blister pod and then the coban over it to keep it from coming free during the run.  I guess we will see how it goes tomorrow.

Does anyone have any magical blister tricks? I will love you forever, as will my left heel with a 20 mile run coming up on Thursday!

 

 

Leave a Reply

