We May Call it School…

I could tell based on my amazing run this morning how my day was going to go.  When I set out it was almost chilly, which is RARE right now.  I knew I was going to be really thankful for it in my sixth hill repeat!  I started doing my 2:1 uphill:downhill repeats as suggested by my training plan because my race actually loses elevation.  They went pretty well but downhill repeats were definitely hard than I was giving them credit for.

During my cool down.  That was my view during the repeats, if you have do hill reps, this is the way to do them!

During my cool down. That was my view during the repeats, if you have do hill reps, this is the way to do them!

I hurried home, got ready and went to my one real class for today.  Post class, I rushed home, got in my car and headed to Wheelchair All Sports day.  We played football, basketball, tennis (which is impossible, let me tell you!) and track.

During football

During football

More football

More football

Adaptive arm bike...that puppy is $8,000!!

Adaptive arm bike…that puppy is $8,000!!

Me on an adaptive bike, one loop around the track nearly killed my arms!

Me on an adaptive bike, one loop around the track nearly killed my arms!

After all of the festivities, we took the opportunity to present a check to the Achieving Wheelchair Equality foundation from what we raised with the Wheel Chair Basketball Tournament a few weeks ago.  I am proud to say, we raised over $10,000!!  I could hardly believe it when our class president turned the giant check around.

dollars!

Their appreciation brought tears to my eyes!!

You would think that would be the end of the fun for the day, but you would be wrong.  I came home and studied for a while before heading to hippotherapy.

Me on a horse!

Me on a horse!

Hippotherapy is basically the use of a horse to get a person to move in a way that this similar to walking through their hips, trunk, etc providing strengthening and stretching to the entire body.  This therapy works on sensory stimulation, balance, fitness, socialization, depression, really the list goes on and on.  It was really awesome to get to see this therapy and experience it.  Plus the farm was so peaceful and centering (if that even makes sense).

So, I swear to you I am in school, but some days are just stinking fun and this was one of those days.  Back to reality tomorrow though!

Hope you had at least half the Monday I did!

2 thoughts on “We May Call it School…

  1. Wow, do you get to participate in all of these programs through your school? Your PT program looks really great! I just started working on my PTCAS application, getting nervous about it all! I still need to study for and take the GRE’s and set up visits to some of the schools, but it’s going so quickly!

    • My program is really awesome. My neuro professor is very very passionate about what she does so she is always giving us millions of opportunities to observe and help and volunteer and what not!
      If you have any questions as the process goes on you know how to find me. With the GRE I totally winged the English (I swear they make up words for this test) but study the math and the strategies and you will be fine I am sure!! Keep me posted!

Leave a Reply

