Spice Up Your Life

Tonight we have our standing Thursday night dinner with another couple.  We started this a while back because the female halves like to watch Grey’s and then the guys do man things like play NBA basketball and shoot stuff (on video games of course).  We do really well most of the time but when things get crazy it seems to fall through the cracks.  We are back on track though, two weeks in a row, woo hoo!

This week for dinner I am making BBQ Chicken Quesedillas, one of my favorites. I wasn’t sure what to do for the side and my mom suggested having chips and salsa.  Why not, just carb it up.  I do have a longer run tomorrow and a long run Saturday so why not.

Rather than getting store bought salsa, I decided to make my own.  I found a recipe just to get a few ingredient ideas, but then I ended up totally winging it and making my own.

Corn and Black Bean Salsa

So, so fresh!

So, so fresh!

Ingredients

1 can reduced sodium black beans

2 cups sweet corn (I just used frozen)

1 small red bell pepper, chopped

1 jalepeno, finely chopped

3 roma tomatoes, chopped

1/2 medium red onion, finely chopped

salt and pepper to taste

1 tsp lemon juice

1 tbsp olive oil

Sriracha to taste

Easiest directions in the world!!

Add all ingredients to bowl and mix.  I try to allow mine to set in the refrigerator for at least an hour to let all the flavors meld together.  Enjoy with chips (or a spoon)!

Almost through the week y’all, hope you are having a good one!

Leave a Reply

