What I Ate Wednesday: Long Run Day

A few days ago my mom told me that my grandparents (who read my blog, I love it!) were concerned that I didn’t eat enough to be going out running 15 miles.  I told her that my usual WIAW posts are for typical days, not long run days.  I thought that this would make an interesting WIAW post.

Breakfast: Whole Wheat Breakfast Burrito with Asiago Chicken Sausage, egg whites and 2 whole eggs, onions, green peppers, mozzarella cheese and spinach

Breakfast Burrito

Breakfast Burrito

2013-06-22 11.08.46Because of the late wake up call (for once on a Saturday, we didn’t eat breakfast until like 11:00 so after the farmers market I set out for a run at about 1:30.  I kinda missed lunch but went on the run with a few energy gels to help me make it when I get back.  My goal is always to have one every ~10k but to split it evenly, I had one ever 5.5 miles and it worked perfectly.

Long Run Fuel

Long Run Fuel

Post Run Refuel: Yogurt and Granola, Watermelon and Strawberries!!

2013-06-22 12.13.06

2013-06-22 16.22.21

2013-06-22 19.51.28


Dinner: 
NY Strip, Jasmine Rice and squash

I am completely obsessed with jasmine rice now, it has its own subtle flavor so you don’t even have to add anything to it.  We usually don’t make much good steak because it’s so expensive but it was on sale this week so we get enough for Casey and I for like $10!!

2013-06-22 20.06.48

Dessert: I embarrassingly ate an entire pint of Ben & Jerry’s!!  Whoops!  Oh well, it was delicious and I “earned” it.
2013-06-22 21.50.25At least it was the fro yo version.  My absolute splurge Saturday inspired my Swap it out Sunday post this week.  This is typically not the way I replenish my calories post long run so I will have to do another post that is more true of the normal soon but hey, live life right.  I run to eat sometimes, Saturday was just one of those times!!

Whats your favorite “earned” splurge?

3 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday: Long Run Day

Leave a Reply

