Getting Used to the Morning

Today called for 5 Yasso’s 800’s (goal 3:30 per 800 m).  In my last marathon training cycle, I literally would dread these all day long.  Like, part of me was actually scared of going on these runs.  Its funny how much my perspective on these has changed.

My alarm sounded at 5:45, I rolled out of bed, slapped on my clothes and gadgets, shoved down half a banana and headed outside.  It was humid but not super hot (I mean, I really thought that whole running while it’s dark outside thing would eliminate the heat and humidity, but I was pretty wrong).

I have to say, I love that it is no longer a thought any more getting out of bed this early.  Going early is now as much of a no-brainer as going for a run any time of day was a month ago.  The alarm goes off, I get out of bed.  AND I don’t spend the whole night before dreading it!  It took two weeks to make it a habit and it is one of the best things I have done for myself.

Anyway, the first two reps were easy peasy.  I sailed through them without even really thinking about it.  Unfortunately, by number four my butt (literally) was starting to feel it.  Number five was a challenge but it ended up being my fastest rep (I was ready to head home and get some breakfast and coffee in my belly)!  Going in to today’s run I was remembering the tempo run the first week starting to run in the morning killed my legs so I was expecting doing this kind of speed work would be especially challenging.   Easy runs weren’t a problem, but any kind of speed really was not coming naturally.  However today, other than normal fatigue I was able to maintain a normal (for me) Yasso pace without feeling the “lead legs.”  Its a good feeling knowing my body is acclimating to this new routine.  If you are transitioning to running in the morning, give your legs a week or so to figure out what the heck is going on before giving up; it will get easier again, I promise!  I have to believe that this will help my race in September as well since they are done in the morning and I will have trained at the same time of day.

splits

This view made the last repeats a bit more enjoyable…

Sun Rise Run

During cool down!

2013-06-10 06.37.28

Post run, I tried a new overnight oats flavor combo (same base of 1/4 cup oats, 1/3 cup almond milk, 1/2 tbsp chia seeds, 1/4 cup plain greek yogurt). For the good stuff I added: 1/2 Banana, Nutella and Cookie Butter (Biscoff Spread).  Instead of a tablespoon of nutella, I did 1/2 tablespoon of Nutella and 1/2 tablespoon of Cookie Butter.  Delectable!!

Have you ever tried to transition to early morning running?  How long did it take you to feel ‘normal’ on these runs?

7 thoughts on “Getting Used to the Morning

    • It’s hard to get started but our schedule is just too crazy, I know they can’t change class to 6 am so I can plan it then. I just do them on easy bay between the bridge and church street. I hate going around in circles on a track but somehow don’t mind running back and forth on the same strip of road ha ha.

  1. I have been (trying) to get my runs done earlier than normal lately. For me that means between 7:30-8:30…no earlier than that though ahaha. I have noticed these earlier runs have been speedier for me, although yesterday I ran directly after work (I used to do this all last summer and I had more energy after working) and was my speediest run to date! I’ll take it! It does feel nice having the run DONE before the rest of the day though!

  2. Go you! I need to get my butt in gear and start doing some speed work and I’ll definitely need to start waking up and getting in my runs earlier since it’s getting hotter earlier now!

      • It’s the humidity that kills me! Yesterday was only maybe 80 but the humidity made even my short 3 mile run brutal! I don’t have a race until August, but I am doing the Marine Corp Marathon in October so I really need to get started training for that!

      • You’ve got time lady…I am so jealous you are doing that race!! With school I just couldn’t swing that one this year. Signing up for a September marathon is seeming like a worse and worse idea every run…all my 20 miles are in JULY!! Yikes, I’m guessing most of yours will be in August though so that isn’t much better! We can do it!

Leave a Reply

