Me 2, Andrea 0, Winning!

Last night was the third in the 5k Race the Landing Series.  It was also when Tropical Storm Andrea decided to grace us with her presence.  There was a good drizzle going at the start of the race and I already had excuses made in my head for not doing well.  I had told myself I was just going to run this one for fun, blah blah blah.  I told myself a million things that disintegrated the second the horn sounded.

rain at the start

rain at the start

more drearyness

more drearyness

The first mile I got dragged out pretty fast by the girl that I edged out in the last race.  I now realize she probably goes out too fast every time because I have had to pass her each week in mile 2 but in this one stupid me tried to keep up with her right from the get go.  Once I passed her and got a cushion I was able to slow a bit but by the time I got to the last mile I was hurting.  Oh yeah and the head wind picked up and the rain started coming down.  As if the last mile doesn’t suck enough right?

Around the next curve I turned to see how close she was behind me and I couldn’t see her, so then I really slowed down.  I ended up coming in at 20:31 which wasn’t bad, 6 seconds from my PR in the last race and given the conditions I was happy with that.  I also got third overall female again.  The girl that came in first ran an 18:40!! Holy moly!

Def not my best splits!

Def not my best splits!

Me and Maribeth Post Race all wet

Me and Maribeth Post Race all wet

They had an awesome photo booth after the race that I will have to scan the pictures in on Monday when I am in school.  Dinner was German night so cabbage, pork, sauerkraut, spiced cake, scalloped potatoes.  It was the best meal yet!

Award

Award

This morning I had planned to hit the road for a 14 miler with my friend I ran with last week but we were playing it by ear because of the storm.  We ended up just deciding to tough it out and hit the road at like 9:30.  The first two miles I was a little concerned because it was raining pretty hard but after that it calmed down to a light mist though the wind when we got down to the beach was pretty strong.  Other than that though it was a pretty enjoyable run, it wasn’t hot, the rain kept us cool, it wasn’t humid.  It was really a runners dream other than my feet and sneakers being soaked from the inevitable puddle everywhere.  However, not 20 minutes after finishing, the sun came out and has been shining ever since, figures.

These are the days that make me feel strong though. Hitting the road when in the past I would have thought no way am I going out there.

Tomorrow will be an early day.  We are doing an adaptive water sports clinic for people with spinal cord injuries and we have to be at the site at 7:30 am and it is an hour from my house.  Yikes!!  I also really wanna get my three miles in before too, so thats probably gonna mean a 5:00 am wake up call, ON A SATURDAY!! ahh!  Sunday I’m going to have to sleep all day!  It should be really awesome though, I will have to make sure to take a lot of pictures throughout the day.

Hope you are able to have a nice relaxing weekend since I can’t!!

2 thoughts on “Me 2, Andrea 0, Winning!

Leave a Reply

