Atlanta, Here I Come

So this will be a short and sweet one.  This morning, I went for a run with Scarlett and then headed to school for a ‘typical’ day of class.  However, today was also the day I found out I will be doing my final clinical rotation at THE SHEPHERD CENTER in ATLANTA!!  If any of you have followed my blog at all, you know I am very into Neuro rehab and this place is the mecca!!  Shepherd is one of the nations top spinal cord and brain injury rehabilitation centers.  This was my dream and it’s really happening.

shepherd.org/about

shepherd.org/about

The therapists work in teams there for either spinal cord, brain injury, etc but they work exclusively with one population.  I don’t know which I would choose (if I am even given a choice) but I guess I have plenty of time to figure it out.  This one will last 10 weeks (they are usually 8) from February 24th to May 2nd next year.  This does cut my third clinical short and I lose my week long break in between clinicals, but that is just fine with me!  This is seriously the opportunity of a lifetime.

To add to the joy of the day, we learned wheel chair skills and I was able to pop up a 4 inch curb which is incredibly harder than anyone you have ever seen in a wheel chair makes it look.  They are serious studs riding around negotiating the world in those things.

Me before realizing how hard wheel chairs are to learn!!

Me before realizing how hard wheel chairs are to learn!!

I can not for the life of me figure out how to copy a video from facebook and get it on here but there was a great one from today.  If anyone knows how I would love to be able to share it!!

Happy National Runners Day Eve!!

3 thoughts on “Atlanta, Here I Come

  1. I have been SOOO busy and am SOOO far behind on blog reading, but this is so exciting, congratulations!!! I can’t wait to hear/ read all about it, what an amazing opportunity. I can’t wait to be at the point your at in school!

    • Thank you!! I can not wait for this experience, I feel like the luckiest girl in the world!
      As for where I am in school, it is great to be this close for sure, however I have never been so stressed or strung out so thin ever. I mean I am getting up at 5 am to run, this is unheard of in my world but is literally the only time I can get it in!! The things we do for our passions, huh?
      Hope your stress is calming down a bit but I some how doubt it. Just give Goofy a hug this weekend and it will all go away! 🙂

  2. Pingback: The Future is Known: My Next Year in Pictures | runs4treats

Leave a Reply

