Man I Was Spoiled

Today I realized just how spoiled I was living 1.5 blocks from class for two years.  That was quite a treat, and I knew it at the time but I know it even more now.

This morning I woke up, had some coffee and cereal (no run this morning because I took my ‘rest day’ today to do Bikram Yoga) got dressed.  You know, the regular morning routine.  I had class from 8-10 and then from 1-5 with yoga starting at 5:30.  I knew I wasn’t going to make it home between class and yoga so I decided rather than staying on campus during my break from 10-1 I would just come home so I wouldn’t have to cart all that stuff around with me all day.

This was a fantastic plan.  I took the 10 minute bike ride home, sat down at my computer and got right to work.  I was bound to make this time productive since usually coming home ruins my ability to accomplish anything.  All was well and good until at 11:30 the sky opened up and it POURED!!  I didn’t have a back up plan to get back to school either because Casey had taken my car to work today, WOMP WOMP!!  Right at about 12:30 the rain lightened up so I hurried and got my stuff together for my window of opportunity.

I hit the road for the 11 minute (I’ve timed it) bike ride back to school.  I could see the storm in the distance, the thunder roaring louder and louder and the lightning illuminating the clouds and I was slightly horrified!  I’m pretty sure I made that ride in about 8 minutes that trip because I was pedaling as fast as my pour little legs could carry me.  I made it about 1 minute before the sky opened again!!  Talk about lucky!

Scarlett had a much better time in the rain than I ever would have and I got a picture mid day from Casey (he took her to work):

Happy as a clam!

Happy as a clam!

Super Soaked Scarlett!

Super Soaked Scarlett!

It looks like these spotty storms are going to haunt me the rest of the week so hopefully I will continue to get lucky with my timing.  It’s really bumming me out because I freaking love a good rainy day but I know this is going to make me dread them!  I’m sure I will continue to love them on days I don’t have to leave the house.

Are you a lover or hater of a rainy day?

Leave a Reply

