WIAW Back to School

Today was busy start to finish.  I feel like so many of my past posts (and future ones for that matter start that way).  I did a lot of little snacks throughout the day more than a meal because I was in the clinic once again tonight so I didn’t get to eat dinner until 9ish. YIKES!

Pre-run Snack: Half Banana

2013-05-29 07.03.13

I set the alarm for the insane hour of 5:50.  Woke up, got out of bed before I could change my mind.  Shoved a half a banana down and met my friend Lia for a morning tempo run.  We had a really good run (this was the first time we have run together).  We went out a little fast for a tempo but overall it was great and we pushed each other big time in the middle part of the run.  It was nice having a challenge especially because my legs didn’t feel awesome and I’m sure I would have backed off the pace a little bit had I been alone.

Breakfast: Gingerbread coffee (I don’t care that it is the opposite of Christmas) and PB banana overnight oats

2013-05-29 07.07.52

Had my morning of class and stayed pretty full almost the whole time (the overnight oats are the best for staying full for a while).  My hunger pangs toward the end of class had a lot more to do with being bored than actually being hungry.

Lunch: Honey Greek Yogurt with French Vanilla Almond Granola; Garlic and Parsley Wheat Thins Flatbread with Sundried Tomato Laughing Cow (fantastic combo)

2013-05-29 12.06.21

wheat

Post lunch we had one class left and we actually finished up early.  I had prepared to just stay at school until clinic tonight but decided to come home and get work done here for a while and take Scarlett for a walk so she wasn’t cooped up all day.  Low and behold Casey had taken her to work with him to play with the dogs that lived at the house they are working on.  She apparently had quite a day and has pretty much been comatose since I got home!

Scar's Play Day

Scar’s Play Day

Snacks: Sliced Strawberries, Garlic Hummus and Carrots, Fig Bar (I freaking love these things and I don’t even like Fig Newtons), Jello Pudding Sugar Free

snackAfter getting a good start on my Neuro work I headed back to the clinic where I had a wonderful night with both of my patients.  To top it off, Casey had dinner made when I got home!!  Huge points for him.

Dinner: Chicken with Homemade Red Sauce and Pasta (he got really creative, we are running out of food)

Delish!

Delish!

I’m sure before the night is over I will eat the other Fig Bar in the package from earlier, I am legit addicted.

Happy for a rest day from running tomorrow (even though we will be doing hot yoga tomorrow night).  I love getting up and doing the run in the morning, its a great way to start my day and so nice to have it out of the way.  However, I will definitely not be upset ‘sleeping in’ until 7:30 tomorrow!

 

2 thoughts on “WIAW Back to School

  1. I need to get my butt outside for an early morning run!! GAH! I have only run at 5am for a race..never willingly haha. Well I guess it’s all willingly, but you know what I mean!

  2. Pingback: Getting Used to the Morning | runs4treats

Leave a Reply

