Just Making Lemonade Over Here

There is never really a day that I wake up and have to do half mile intervals and think, “Man I can’t wait to go do my run today.”  I had high hopes for my speed work today.  I spent an hour studying and what not then loaded my workout up on my Garmin and headed out.

Seconds after stepping foot outside the door I felt the spit of rain drops.  It wasn’t really much so I said, sure I will just keep going, its only four reps and I will be doing them right by the house if the cats and dogs start coming down.  Half way through my second rep I was still happy I kept at it, the workout would be done before I knew it and it had yet to really rain.  As soon as I finished that rep, the sky opened but at this point I was half way done and I certainly wasn’t quitting now.  Whats worse than plain Yasso 800’s, thats right, Yasso 800s in pouring rain and head winds.  The upside, it could be 100 degrees at this time of year so the cool rain was a nice relief from sixth circle of hell we are used to in Charleston in May.

Yasso's

Yasso’s

My goal for the marathon in 3:30 so my goal for each 800 was 3 minutes and 30 seconds.  Rep 3 and 4 were a little faster than I wanted but I was just trying to get out of the rain.

Sorry for the poor quality, soaking wet post workout, feeling great though!

Sorry for the poor quality, soaking wet post workout, feeling great though!

Overall successful speed work day, and retrospectively, the rain was amazing!!

Pic from the weekend of Case and I at the beach!

Pic from the weekend of Case and I at the beach!  Didn’t end up on the boat but any day out in the sun is a win in my book!

Happy Monday!

 

 

5 thoughts on “Just Making Lemonade Over Here

Leave a Reply

