Moving Day

Today was officially moving day.  That meant lots and lots of cleaning!

I got up, had breakfast and coffee, went for my 3 miles easy on a route that has become fairly typical for me.  Through campus, over to the harbor, down broad street and the battery.  What was silly was how nostalgic I was feeling about it.  I am literally moving less than 2 miles across town.  But it was something about the fact that that crack in the sidewalk will no longer mark 2 miles, that water fountain won’t be exactly where I need and expect it anymore.  I know this is silly, but if you are a runner, you know these things and how nice they are.

Anyway, after showering I hopped to it in my house.  I got the rest of my stuff together (I have been gradually bringing it over day by day which made the move a lot easier).  It will still way more than I thought would be left.  Casey and his dad came and got my big stuff with his dad’s van and I spent the rest of the day cleaning and doing laundry.

My room...

My room…

...looking so sad!

…looking so sad!

My two best friends and favorite tricks from the day were:

2013-05-14 14.08.29The magic eraser is actually magic people.  It got off scuff on the wall, gunk from the cabinets, who knows what off the front of the refrigerator.  It even worked on soap scum on the shower door.  I could write a song to these things.

The second was a trick I got from my roommate who got it from Pinterest.  If you run a dryer sheet over the baseboards it picks up all the dusk and grime.  I was skeptical but it worked like a charm.  These two little guys saved me so much time today.

Now I am in the new spot and it is great but I couldn’t help the sadness I felt stepping out of my old house for the last time.  I have practically become a whole new person in that house.  It is the only place I have ever lived in Charleston.  It was the single most independent thing I have done in my life (and maybe the dumbest, I had never even been here before the day I moved my stuff into this house).  I have had 11 different roommates there, gotten through 2 years of pt school, run three marathons and three halves, met Casey and fell in love.  I have a bunch of new great friends, a puppy whom I adore and a life I am not sure I could have dreamed up.  It all happened for me in that house.

Obligatory Scarlett shot

Obligatory Scarlett shot

But now I am ready for a new chapter.  Here we go!

 

2 thoughts on “Moving Day

  1. I think you will find NEW running cracks in the road and new scenes that will make for awesome new adventures!! Change is hard, but necessary. I can’t wait to hear all about your new adventures in the new place! YAY!

Leave a Reply

