Charlestowne Landing 5k

Last night was the first of a 5k series at Charlestowne Landing.  There are five races in the series that goes until July.  The race takes place a park in West Ashley, SC and it is absolutely beautiful.  We actually went to a wedding there last year!

I had absolutely no idea what to expect from myself for this race.  I haven’t run a 5k in 5 years so I was really winging it.  First off, I have to say it was so much fun.  By the time I was kinda hurting I only had a mile left which is a lot easier to power through than 6 miles.  It was also cool to start a race and not be thinking, in 3 hours, I will still be running.

I ended up running a 20:52.  This was by far a 5k PR.  I think my best time in high school was a 22:12 (maybe 21:12, I can’t remember, it was 8 years ago people)!

Splits

Splits

Not too shabby considering I had no idea I could run a mile faster than 7 minutes!!

On top of that, I got third overall female!! I couldn’t believe it!

Award from the race!

Award from the race!

Post race, I got a free massage, had a free beer and they had food but I wasn’t quite up to eating yet.  We did however stop and get some TCBY for a fundraiser on the way home.

tcby

I got banana and peanut butter swirl with a few chocolate chunks!  Delicious!!

So, overall success I believe.  I do wish I hadn’t started the series out so hard because it is just going to make it that much harder to get better!

Have you ever completely surprised yourself in a race?  Is it not the best feeling ever?

 

4 thoughts on “Charlestowne Landing 5k

  1. Awesome job! Nice PR (and split-times)! I ran my first 5K recently, and that feeling was sooo much nicer. Not, “oh, I have only 7 miles left; I can fight through the pain…” 🙂

    • Thank you!! All races are fun in their own way but you can definitely appreciate how quick a 5k goes after doing longer race!! Do you have any races coming up?

Leave a Reply

