End of the Streak

So congrats to all those that joined me for my April streaking, we did it!!

A month long streak would look something like this…

Streak

I have never done a streak before and I kinda loved it.  It was nice not to worry about when I would take a rest day during the week, there were none!  The only times it became a little bit of a burden were the days I went to hot yoga and went to run a few miles first.  I will be nice to see how much using that energy before class was making a difference next week.

I also decided since today was the last day of my streak that I would finish my audio book (there were 57 minutes left, perfect time for a good, steady run)!  This book was fantastic and I highly recommend it.

The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult Image from: jodipicoult.com

The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult
Image from: jodipicoult.com

This book was a multigenerational story that starts focused solely on the grand daughter Sage and her trials and tribulations.  Then she meets Joseph Weber who becomes her friend and reveals that he was a SS officer in WWII.  This spurs Sage to ask her Jewish grandmother, Minka, who had survived the Holocaust her story.

This story was phenomenal but was brutally honest.  I feel like most of the WWII books I have read tell a story of people that got away, got lucky, and don’t get down to what actually happened.  There were times I found myself crying, WHILE I WAS RUNNING, listening to the stories of Joseph and Minka.  The grandmother’s story is horrifying and beautiful and disgusting all at the same time.

I have read all of Jodi’s books but this one was so different to me.  I think this may be one of my favorites of hers now.  I highly, highly recommend it!!

Today also marked the last major study day because tomorrow is my LAST FINAL!!  Woo hoo.  Send me some love at 9 am tomorrow!!

Have you read The Storyteller?  What did you think?  If you have read others of Jodi Picoult’s novels, which is your favorite?

One thought on “End of the Streak

Leave a Reply

