Swap It Out Sunday

I have had the most peaceful Sunday finishing my book while sitting on the porch, enjoying a naked run through town (it was freakishly quiet, just birds chirping) and now watching The Masters and getting some studying done.

2013-04-14 10.47.22

The book I finished was called The Memory Thief by Emily Colin.  I enjoyed it a lot even though it included a lot of supernatural elements that I usually don’t care for.  The main character Maddie’s husband dies in a climbing accident that he promised to come home from and even after death he tries to keep his promise through another man, Nicholas.  It was a very entertaining story and I flew through it!

Memory Thief

For this week’s swap it out Sunday I was trying to find a safe food to avoid doing something drastic while at amusement parks, county fairs, carnivals, etc.  A go to for these in my family was always a funnel cake, but now it seems you can pretty much deep fry anything: snickers, Oreos and even cheesecake!

fair food

With all of these insane treats around you, with very few options around to even try to make a good decision I found the best alternative I could come up with!

Funnel Cake: 760 calories/ 44g fat

Fried Snickers: 444 calories/ 29g of fat

Fried Oreo: 232 calories/ 14.4g of fat

Kettle Corn (not to be confused with carmel corn): Various results in my research but ~115 calories and 8 grams of fat in 2 cups

So there you have it, your best bet is definitely the kettle corn.  The best thing about this is that its salty and sweet and you can eat a good bit for a lot fewer calories than any of the other treats!

One thought on “Swap It Out Sunday

Leave a Reply

