Farmer’s Market is Back!

So today was jam packed and almost all of it was enjoyable (even the time spent studying if you can believe it)!

I started off getting some work done early before going to the farmers market with my friend Jenna.  We even took Scarlett (which may have been more trouble than it was worth –> so many distractions, but it was good to get her out and about again)!  We also went to the Charleston Artist’s Markets.  There are some really incredibly talented people in this area I have to say.

Lots of goodies at the market!

Lots of goodies at the market!  Top right was almost Scarlett’s new sister; Right Middle: head board made from scrap wood and tin, so beautiful; Left Middle: the Best Marshmallow of my life @Haypenny

I was able to get so many fruits and veggies for pretty cheap.  I usually am under $20 but went a little over board today.  I had three full grocery bags of fresh fruits and veggies including a watermelon so you really can’t beat it!

I also have to put a plug in for Haypenny Confections!!  I had the Honey Vanilla Chai marshmallow today and it was to die for!  They even had cute little roasters that you could just have a single marshmallow.  They had the most incredible flavors and some of the flavors you could buy in a pre-made home-made smore’s kit with various flavors like vanilla, toasted coconut (Jenna had this and said it was awesome) and so many others.  It would be the sweetest little gift to give someone for any occasion really.  I mean who wouldn’t like a flavored smores kit, lets be real.  And after that ramble about a marshmallow it has to be apparent to you how much I loved it!

Pet Helpers was also at the Artist’s Market and we made the mistake of going up to see the adorable 8 week old lab puppies.  Scarlett and one of them played for a while and had such a good time (made Scarlett look huge though, my baby is growing up).  I wish she was just a little older and I think we would have gotten one of them.  But if anyone is interested in a puppy, contact Pet Helpers because there were still three left when we left there today.

With my best girl!

With my best girl!

After finally tearing myself away from the market (and the puppies) I headed out to Starbucks to study for a few hours and got a lot accomplished.  I went for the most amazing run, the weather is so perfect for running I can’t believe it.  I changed out all of my winter clothes to store for the summer and made a fairly large pile to finally donate after carrying around clothes that are 6 sizes too big for me for two years (yay for that though)!

So all in all, I’d say it was a pretty productive Saturday.  Thank goodness the market is back, I feel like I have been waiting forever!

Do you shop at your local farmers market?  How long does yours go during the year?

Have to brag: our will run until December, one of the perks of living in the south 🙂

3 thoughts on “Farmer’s Market is Back!

  1. Ours is AMAZING in Portland. We have many, many small farmer’s markets throughout the city, but the true treat is the BIG one downtown. It runs throughout Spring, Summer, and Fall in full force and then scales back to smaller winter market from December, so there is pretty much always something to be found!

  2. Oh my goodness, clothes that are 6 sizes too big for you?!? Good for you, that’s amazing!

    I’m actually not sure when the farmer’s market by me opens…it has to be soon though, I’m going to check, thanks for reminding me!

Leave a Reply

