Very First WIAW

PAfter reading several blogs for a while, I have noticed a lot have a What I Ate Wednesday post every week.  I like this because after losing a significant amount of weight people often ask me how I did it.  What I eat, how I work out, etc.  It’s not a magical equation, I can tell you that…its healthy eating and dedication to exercise.  But I thought the best way to answer these kind of questions would be just to show them!

wiaw

Plus…

Sat down with a few of these to post...

Sat down with a few of these to post…

I literally felt like I was eating all day and I still didn’t reach my calorie goal based on myfitnesspal.

I am big on having medium sized meals with lots of healthy snacks throughout the day.

Breakfast: Chocolatey Strawberry Special K with Almond Milk and Pumpkin Spice Coffee

Lunch: Salmon Cakes (runners world magazine) with chili sauce

Snacks: Banana with Peanut Butter Greek Yogurt Dip, pineapple, grapes, carrots with hummus

Dinner: Garlic Shrimp and Bean Stew (runners world)

Snacks: Honey Teddy Grahams (my favorite snacks), Light n’ Fit Vanilla yogurt with Bare Naked Fit Granola, Maple Mini Wheats

After doing a lot of walking around town and running with the group I had a lot of extra calories today that I couldn’t have eaten if I tried (as you can see I was eating a lot).  The other thing I stick firm to is portion sizes so I can have a lot of snacks (but smaller ones).

What are your favorite healthy things to snack on?

7 thoughts on “Very First WIAW

  1. I just did a post on some of my favorite snacks! Definitely fresh fruit/veggies are number one, but I also love low-fat cottage cheese and fat-free Greek yogurt. Add a handful of raw almonds or a bit of Nature Path Pumpkin Flax granola and I’m set. When I go for something on the go, I like Larabars because they are all-natural and the ingredient list is literally three or four items long!

    • I will have to try the Larabars. I am always a little cautious about bar because of all the crap they put in them but this sounds great!!
      I also am a huge greek yogurt fan. I have tried so many times to like cottage cheese but I just can’t (the texture gets me), I wish I could though, everyone makes it sound so delicious!!
      And there are you getting this pumpkin flax granola, it wants to be in my tummy now!! I love all things pumpkin!

      • I love pumpkin and Nature’s Path makes a really good granola that is not loaded with sugar and it’s only about 80cal per 1/4 cup serving! And larabars are amazing!! The key lime pie is one of my favorites and the only ingredients are dates, almonds, coconut flakes, and lime juice. Winner in my book!

  2. Love this idea!! I love getting your ideas, so this makes it so much easier than stalking you! Ha! Super pumped about trying the salmon cakes.

Leave a Reply

