Fitness: Not for the Faint of Heart

The other day I was talking to a friend about working out who said, ” I am just not ever going to be like you, I don’t wake up every day excited to work out.”  I laughed, out loud, literally.  I have to tell everyone that is working to get into a routine of fitness, those of us that do it 5 or 6 days of the week aren’t doing it because it is rainbows and butterflies all the time.  We don’t get up at crazy hours before work/school because it is the best thing that happens all day (some days this is true, but I would say no more than half)! We don’t live to work out, we work out to make a life worth living.

Some days are glorious and amazing, some days I am dragging myself out the door and some days I am just grinding it out.  Some days I am 30 minutes into the work out and I’m still thinking, I wish I had just stayed at home.  But never, not once have I gotten home and stood in the shower and not felt amazing about what I had just done.  Some workouts, my sole motivator is to get to that shower where I can feel good about what I have accomplished.

Some days runs take me to views such as these…

Cooperriver

…and others I’m at the gym watching things like this…

…which remind me that running can be really fun!

The when I reach for things like this…

Made these today to take to Casey's parents tomorrow (link to recipe from another blog)

Made these today to take to Casey’s parents tomorrow (link to recipe from another blog)

…I reach for 1 instead of 3.  Not because I think that it won’t be amazing in the moment, but because I will lay in bed that night and know I enjoyed the one I had and didn’t over indulge.

At the end of the day, your motivation is what is most important and what will keep you going.  My motivation isn’t to fit into a size 0 pants, or look good in a bikini or never eat a single sweet for the rest of my life (that would fail in 2.2 seconds).  My motivation (at the ripe age of 23) is to be able to run around with my kids and teach them how to play lacrosse, to be able to hold my grandkids one day and see them get married.  As crazy as that is to think now, I feel like I have a head start to being successful.  These are so much more meaningful to me than the bikini and the tiny pants (although added bonus if this happens along the way).

I urge you to find your motivation.  Know that every day won’t be easy, but every day added up will be worth it!

6 thoughts on “Fitness: Not for the Faint of Heart

  1. Ha! Yeah. I don’t get up because I love to sweat and be smelly. I get my butt to the gym early because I love life!

  2. That run over the bridge looks so gorgeous! I need to find some more “pretty” runs by me…I’m so sick of my usual routes!

    And I LOVE that clip of Phoebe running…my husband does that when he pretends to imitate me running sometimes (although I DON’T actually run like that…I hope!)

    • Oh yeah, Casey makes it look like I’m running like such a fool when he imitates me!
      And that bridge is a blessing and a curse. It is absolutely the hardest run you can do around here, if it wasn’t pretty it just simply wouldn’t be worth the effort! Makes it that much more blissful upon reaching the top though.

Leave a Reply

